3:52 p.m. | 2002-11-03

100 Things.

1. I have crooked pinkies. It runs in the family on my mother�s side.

2. Twenty years ago, I was working at a fast food joint.

3. I was so small when I was born, I had to wear doll clothes. (They didn�t have preemie clothes back then.) And, I wasn�t premature.

4. I�m related to the 9th and 23rd presidents.

5. My favorite color is red.

6. I was a gymnast in junior high and high school.

7. My great grandfather hung out with Buffalo Bill Cody.

8. I mumble. It�s runs in the family; my uncle mumbles too. We understand each other perfectly.

9. I went to seven different schools for my primary education.

10. My favorite flowers are sunflowers.

11. I started kindergarten right after I turned 4.

12. I�ve been to Mexico, Canada, West Germany, East Germany, England, France, Belgium and Austria.

13. I hate cake. I don�t really like ice cream either.

14. A picture of my great grandmother hangs in the Library of Congress.

15. I once had a cat that trained herself to pee in the toilet. She never flushed it though.

16. I don�t know how to drive a stick shift, nor do I care to learn.

17. I�m a good cook but a terrible baker.

18. I don�t own a nutcracker. (I recently discovered this after buying a bag of walnuts at the farmer�s market.)

19. My favorite holiday is Easter.

20. I hate shopping.

21. I love fruits and vegetables and must have one or the other every day.

22. I don�t own a stereo, DVD player or digital camera. I do have 2 boom boxes; both were gifts.

23. I own two pairs of sneakers; both were gifts.

24. I�m allergic to shellfish.

25. I was at the Berlin Wall when it was officially opened in December of 1989.

26. My favorite movie is Pulp Fiction.

27. I�m in Who�s Who: American Law Students.

28. In high school, I broke the girls record for both chin-ups and chair pushups. Now I can barely lift my purse. And, it�s a small purse.

29. I don�t have a cell phone, voicemail or call waiting. I have a cordless phone and an answering machine. I don�t like to be too accessible.

30. I lied on my driver�s license. It says I�m 5�0 but really I�m 4�11.75� tall.

31. I flunked the Ethics portion of the Bar Exam by 1 point. I passed it the second time. (You can take the Ethics test during law school.)

32. I never took the Bar Exam because I�ve never wanted to practice law.

33. Besides a small nose fracture, I�ve never broken a bone.

34. I�ve never been pregnant.

35. I�m an amateur lapidariest � I collect, grind and polish rocks.

36. I was in law school when I realized that I really wanted to be a horticulturist.

37. I was a song leader in junior high school. (We did dance routines during halftimes, etc.) I thought cheerleading was stupid.

38. I�ve been in four car accidents. Only one was my fault; I backed into a pole.

39. I was engaged to be married once. I called it off. I still have the engagement and wedding rings. I threw away the box of invitations years ago.

40. I have a sock monkey.

41. I have experienced blizzards, hailstorms, thunderstorms, tornados, earthquakes, droughts, floods and windstorms. Oh, and the dreaded locust swarm.

42. The first time I ever had Chinese food was in Frankfurt, Germany. The best pasta I ever had was at a pizza joint in West Berlin, East Germany.

43. I�ve cut a baby�s cord. It�s a lot harder than it looks. And, it�s kind of yucky but very cool.

44. I tried drugs when I was younger but never got past the experimental stage and never tried any �hard� drugs. Now I take prescription drugs on a daily basis.

45. Being Scotch-Irish though, I don�t usually turn down a drink. And, I have had moments of excess.

46. I own an antique buffet and a Braille slate that came from the blind school that Mary Ingalls attended.

47. I don�t know html but I think that�s obvious. Someday, when I feel like it, I�ll learn it. I do know Cobol, Basic and Assembly Language.

48. I�ve been a columnist for two small local papers. Surprising I know, but sometimes, small papers get really desperate.

49. I�ve been told many times that I look like Jodie Foster. I was once told I look like Muriel Hemingway, and recently I was told I look like I could be Michelle Pfeiffer�s sister. I don�t believe any of that.

50. I have been called Pippi Longstocking many times. If I died my hair red, I think I could pull that off.

51. I have a dimple in my chin like Kirk Douglas. Only, my dimple isn�t famous.

52. The most unusual job I had was as an agency administrator at a community-based, nonprofit organization that ran a pre-natal clinic for poor pregnant girls and women. I was the only white person who worked there with the exception of the nurse practitioners and midwives.

53. I remember where I was when Elvis died (at a friend�s house), the attempted assassination of Ronald Reagan (high school English class) and when John Lennon was shot (at a pizza parlor).

54. I always have at least one pet. Right now, I have three birds.

55. I have never instant messaged anyone or posted on a message board. I barely know what those things are.

56. I�m teaching myself to draw.

57. I�ve been pulled over by the police twice, both times for speeding. I was very respectful and polite. I got tickets both times. My father gets pulled over for speeding frequently and has never once been ticketed.

58. One of my ex-boyfriends used to own an elephant. Not while we were dating though.

59. I rode in an ambulance once but I was unconscious so I don�t remember any of it. They expected me to die but luckily, I didn�t.

60. I�ve had surgery four times.

61. I prefer silver jewelry to gold. I also prefer colored gems/stones to diamonds. However, I don�t wear jewelry much, unless it�s special, except my watch. I cannot function without a watch. And, if a piece is special to me, I�ll wear it continuously.

62. I�d rather go to a local establishment than a chain store/restaurant.

63. I rarely drink coffee or sodas with caffeine. I annoy people when I�m caffeinated, including myself.

64. I don�t eat sweets much as sugar upsets my stomach. I still haven�t finished my Easter candy from last year and last year�s Christmas candy is still in the freezer.

65. I am somewhat claustrophobic. I can ride in elevators but would freak if I got stuck in one.

66. I don�t have any wisdom teeth. Never had any and I guess I never will. That could explain a lot. I have a friend who had 8; I think she got mine.

67. I used to have an excellent memory.

68. Up through junior high school, I usually played lead in school plays and even sang in most of them. In fourth grade, the lead character was a boy and everyone told me that I played the best boy ever.

69. I�ve never been married but intend to when I meet the right person. And, I think I have. Actually, I know I have.

70. One of my grandmothers was born in a covered wagon during a blizzard. My other grandmother was the 14th child of Irish immigrants and purchased by my great-grandfather. Her real mother was told her child was born dead. (Just thought I would rattle some old skeletons in the closet.)

71. When I was young, I thought my parents were aliens. Sometimes I still think that. It would explain a lot.

72. My moral character application was approved but it expired several years ago so now I can�t vouch for my moral character anymore. (Approval is required before you can practice law.)

73. I get bitchy when I�m really tired or hungry. Oh, and it�s not a good idea to wake me up when I�m sleeping.

74. I like to do embroidery.

75. I have a Bird of Paradise plant and I can�t wait until it flowers. It usually starts flowering when it�s 7 years old. Mine is 3.

76. I had to wear baby shoes (those little white high-top ones) until I went to kindergarten. Then, I got my first pair of low-top Buster Brown shoes. I showed them to EVERYBODY. I was very proud.

77. I still wear girl�s shoes. And socks. And some clothes too. I guess I�m never going to grow up.

78. I can balance on one foot incredibly well, especially considering that I have a lot of balancing problems.

79. I love to garden. Inside and outside. In fact, I would go insane if I couldn�t garden.

80. I can still bend over and touch my toes. Granted, they�re not all that far away. But still.

81. I�m not big on social gatherings unless it�s a gathering of all my friends.

82. I have never seen an episode of X-Files, Buffy or even 90210. I don�t watch a lot of network TV.

83. I have never framed my law degree. It�s still in the same envelope it was in when they gave it to me. I have framed my college degrees and my special honors awards though.

84. I once waited on a famous basketball player at a fast food place. I didn�t know who he was; my boss told me. At my boss� insistence, I got his autograph. My boss was too afraid to go up to him. He was very nice and we traded the perfunctory tall/short jokes.

85. I once got first-degree burns on my shoulders and the back of my legs from the sun. I couldn�t walk for 3 days and still have scars behind my knees. I try to stay out of the sun.

86. I don�t really like bread, except garlic cheese toast. I rarely eat bread unless it�s part of a sandwich or a burger.

87. I love melted cheese but I have no interest in cheese if it�s not melted.

88. I very rarely go to the movies. I don�t really like mainstream movies and there aren�t a lot of people who like the same movies I do. And, I am a movie critic� don�t drag me to some crappy movies unless you want to hear me whine about every single thing wrong with it. For years.

89. I love to read. I have books all over my house. And, I read all different kinds.

90. I love kid art. I have it all over my fridge.

91. I don�t really care about china, I don�t really like roses and I�m not fond of pink. In my cupboard I have a set of china with a pink rose pattern. It was my grandmother�s; my mother gave it to me. She said she thought I would like it.

92. I�m a salt freak. I salt pretty much everything I eat.

93. I love antiques and a lot of my furniture is antique.

94. I am passionate about history. I enjoy going to museums, art galleries, historical sites, etc.

95. I�m very fiscally responsible. I�ve never paid a bill late, or missed a bill. I don�t have any credit card debt; I pay the balance monthly. Otherwise, I�d be a nervous wreck.

96. My hair is blondish-brown. My sister insisted on dying it once. She dyed it light brown. I�ve had highlights done twice. Except for those 3 occasions, my hair has always been its natural color.

97. Premature gray hair runs in my family. My mother has white hair now and all of my sisters, including my younger one, have quite a bit of gray hair. I don�t. They all get mad about that.

98. I don�t particularly like to do laundry, but I always do it every week. I have never been behind.

99. My best feature is probably my eyes. They�re very blue and I receive comments on them almost daily. Next to that, I get the most comments on my smile. (Not counting comments on my height, of course.)

100. Thunder scares me.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003