12:01 a.m. | 2005-10-28

JournalCon 2005 Part Two.

One of my goals this year was to meet new people. JCon tends to be frenetic so that�s a worthy goal. Often, on the way to meet someone, you get diverted by someone else and before you know it, you�re sitting in a restaurant several blocks away eating a fabulous lunch and having a blast.

I tried to stay focused this year and I did manage to do some meeting and greeting. Below are some of the wonderful people I met, in no particular order.

Fredlet. She is sweet, funny and quite generous (thanks for lunch, Fred). She also has fabulous hair and is a fellow tiny person. I really enjoyed hanging out with her and was glad we were able to share a taxi to the airport.

Dichroic. I�ve been trying to meet Dichroic for quiet some time and was thrilled to finally introduce myself to her. She�s also a tiny person and well, a rocket scientist. There�s not much this woman has not done or doesn�t do. Plus, she�s personable, bright and lots of fun. Dichroic is kind of like a real life action figure.

Pratt. Pratt welcomed me to JCon 2005 right away. To know Pratt is to love him� especially when he�s singing some Cheap Trick at karaoke. (You were fabulous, Pratt!) He�s a ton of fun, all kinds of clever and one of the kindest people you could ever meet. Unfortunately, I didn�t get to spend enough time with him. At least in my opinion� Pratt might disagree because, really, I can be annoying.

Bozoette. I can�t talk about Pratt without thinking of Bozoette. And yes, she is a former clown much like the name implies. There are not a lot of people that, upon meeting, you think: �Wow, she�d make a great clown�. Yet, that�s what I thought. Bozoette is all kinds of wonderful and she and Pratt can rock some Motown. As a special bonus for me, I bought the book she wrote (Girl Clown) and she autographed it for me. It was such a good read, I started and finished it the day after I got home. I wish I could�ve spent more time with Bozoette. There�s always next year I suppose.

Pablo Kickasso. Oh. My. God. Pablo is so cool there are no adequate words to explain it. He acts all unassuming too which doubles the effect. Then there�s the accent. Frankly, I don�t know how he got away from JCon without being mauled. Lucky for me, I had the opportunity to spend some time with Pablo. Oh wait� did I mention karaoke? Good Lord, this man is an incredible singer. (Psst� I think I might have a small crush on him � is it noticeable? Don�t tell him, okay?) Um, Pablo, it was nice to meet you� um, yeah.

Ray in Austin. Wow. Ray. Ray is one of those people that two seconds after you meet him, it seems like you�ve known him forever. You suddenly can�t picture your life without him in it. I didn�t get to spend enough time with Ray but fortunately, we also shared a taxi to the airport and Jen and I were able to walk him to his gate. One thing that I�ll never forget? Ray explaining baseball to Mare over dinner using my napkin, the salt and pepper shakers, a knife and a salad dressing container (think gravy boat). One of the most precious things I�ve ever seen! Love ya, Ray.

Carol Elaine. I can�t mention Ray without thinking of Carol Elaine who I didn�t spend enough time with either. Of special note was her very enthusiastic participation in the Karaoke Cleavage Parade. Let�s just say that many eyes were upon her. Actually, the annual JCon Cleavage Parade is a veritable feast for those who appreciate an eyeful, just so you know. Ahem. Anyway, Carol Elaine is a lot of fun.

LA the Sage. I have to admit that I did notice that LA is an AMAZON woman. I am not. She�s also a kick in the pants and she�ll kick your ass just as quick as I would. With different results, I suspect. She can karaoke with the best of them and she�s a blast to hang out with. She�s smart, funny and vivacious.

Deb. I was looking forward to meeting Deb and I wasn�t disappointed. She�s a lot of fun and easy to be around. She had kick-ass swag too!

Meg and MarigoldMind. I met these two adorable ladies at the same exact time. The both talk a million miles an hour and laugh at the same time. An absolute blast! I sat next to them at lunch on Saturday and I�m so glad I did. Honestly, they�re so cute you want to take �em home as souvenirs. (Hi ladies!)


Wow, I do go on don�t I? That�s enough for tonight. I think I need to do one more entry to do justice to JournalCon 2005. Really, it was just so wonderful. But that entry will have to wait; I need to get this one posted first.

So more later�

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003