7:09 p.m. | 2003-05-15

What About The Kitchen Sink?

Colleague and I receive assignments based on topical (rather than tropical) areas so we�re pretty familiar with certain subject matters. However, I have the great honor of having �miscellaneous� as one of my topical areas so, every year, I receive several rather interesting assignments dealing with subjects that fall outside my normal purview.

I always know they�re coming because I can hear Boss chuckling and muttering things like �Oh, Cruel-Irony�s gonna love THIS one�. It keeps my job interesting to say the least.

Today, I worked on one of those assignments. It encompassed the following things: money, labor, real property, personal property, chickens, avocados, olives, citrus fruits, vegetables, nuts, artichokes, fish, shellfish, mollusks, crustaceans, kelp, algae, vehicles, horses, mares, geldings, bovines, caprines, mules (jacks or jennys!), sheep, lambs, hogs, sows, boars, gilts, barrows, pigs, firearms, equines, ovines, suines, gold dust, amalgam, quicksilver and, - last but not least - dogs.

I couldn�t have been more surprised if Sid Vicious had dropped by to watch Sha Na Na. Well, if Sid was still alive and that train wreck of a show was still on the air, of course. I felt like I�d been transported to a farm with orchards located on the beach amongst miners carrying firearms while walking my dog. (Not that I have a dog, I�m just saying.)

Of course, I had to do some research. Amongst other things, at Bovine Elite, I learned that you can buy semen. At Caprine Supply , I discovered you can learn how to manage goats, you know, just in case you�re tired of managing people, a household or your affairs.

I�m still not sure if �gilt�, as used here, means items covered in gold or young sows that haven�t farrowed. Whatever that means. However, I�m pretty sure that barrow, as used here, means pigs that have been castrated before they�re sexually mature rather than a wheelbarrow. And, I learned that ovines are sheep.

But, I�m still wondering why they left out the kitchen sink. Oh, wait, that�d be personal property. So, I guess I was wrong when I told Colleague I had to analyze everything but the kitchen sink. Heh.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003