12:35 p.m. | 2002-05-19

When You're Wrong, You're Wrong.

I've been dealing with a lot of pain lately and unexpected complications and frustrations. I have a lot of things to handle, all of a sudden. And, it seems like all my friends are having hard times too. Ugh.

So, anyway, I was talking on the phone the other day with my auto insurance company and I was being sarcastic and snippy. After I hung up, I realized that I was out of line. Just because I'm in pain and frustrated, it doesn't give me a license to go around being rude to people. So, I called my claims representative back and apologized for being sarcastic and snippy. And, he told me that I didn't need to apologize because he's used to people being rude and he hadn't given it another thought.

But, ya know what? I did have to apologize because I was out of line. And, it didn't matter to me if he cared if I was sorry or not, I still had to apologize. That's a new one for me. Usually, when I tell someone that I'm sorry for something I did, they are waitng breathlessly and rightfully to hear my apology. So, I'm doing it for me and for them. I don't think I've ever apologized just for me. Because I was wrong even if the other person wasn't waiting to hear from me.

Wow, what a mature and healthy thing to do. Now, give me back my crayons, my blanky, and my teddy bear! Oh, and don't forget my pacifier since I'm rather fussy right now...

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003