5:38 p.m. | 2002-08-18

Do YOU Have a Duck�s Hand?

I come home from work one day and there�s a note in my mailbox. It says:

�Do you have a ducks hand? I have him. 555-5555. Please call.�

Okay, I�m already confused. I tend to take things literally, so I�m already thinking that, well, a duck doesn�t have hands. It has two feet. Is this person asking me if I have a duck�s foot? If so, then why would they say they have him. Is this some weird �Godfather� type message or warning? Did they take my duck and leave one of his feet? I don�t have a duck so that whole theory is shot.

Then, I start thinking about what would be similar to a duck�s hand � maybe they meant whatever that is. But, once again, that lead me nowhere.

I didn�t call the number because, frankly, I wasn�t missing anything that I knew about. Everything seemed normal at my house.

It took me until the next day to realize that the actual question was: �Do you have a dachshund?� I had to rely on my ability to decipher really horrible handwriting. I had to actually analyze this mysterious note in my mailbox. And, surprisingly, after years of deciphering really crappy handwriting, I found that I�m actually skilled at that task.

And, interestingly enough, they actually spelt dachshund correctly except it�s not two words. (The note said �dachs hund�.)

I felt relieved to know that it wasn�t some twisted extortion note and I was happy because I wasn�t missing any of my pets. I think it was actually a very considerate thing to do on their part � leaving notes in everyone�s mailboxes regarding a missing dog. (I presume they left a note in the boxes in the hood because mine had my house number on it. After writing this note many times, the writing probably got sloppier and sloppier.)

***

On another note, we have some babies in the hood! Very adorable of course. (So now I am no longer the neighborhood default hot chick.) Now I�m the neighbor of nervous, first-time parents and squalling infants. I�m okay with some crying � as long as it doesn�t go on for hours � however, one of my birds is quite sensitive to it.

He was an abused bird that I rescued. When he becomes alarmed, he does his alarm screech. And, alas, he�s very sensitive to the plight of others. Currently, the only time he screeches is when he hears sirens, and apparently, crying infants. I live behind a hospital and have two neighbors with newborns. Amazingly enough, you don�t really hear the ambulance sirens much � they cut them off when they�re near the hospital. But, those newborns are stretching their lung capacities. Thank god both sets of parents are attentive. Otherwise, it could get old really fast.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003