6:03 p.m. | 2002-10-14

Thank God I'm Literate.

I took a little break from the computer this weekend because, well, I wanted to. I�m an avid reader. Actually, I�m more like a rabid reader. I�ll read just about anything and am usually reading more than one book at a time. Not counting the book I read this weekend, I�m also reading three other ones. So I just wanted to take some time to curl up and read.

Of course, I did the usual stuff too. Cooking, cleaning, laundry and grocery shopping. Since my imaginary husband is imaginary, I always have to do that shit myself. But I�d rather have a useless imaginary husband than a useless real husband.

Anyway, I like to re-read my favorite books because I learn something new each time. As I grow, learn and change, what I understand and perceive changes too. It�s amazing the different things you can take from the same book at various times in your life.

So, I re-read Helter Skelter (Vincent Bugliosi; nonfiction) this weekend. It has been years since I read that book. Years. It�s still a bizarre and landmark tragedy which had a profound effect on society. We hear/see about so much murder and mayhem nowadays that it�s lost some of its significance unless you understand something about the culture of the 1960�s. However for anyone who remembers, firsthand, that tragedy or the 1960�s era, it still inspires fear, shock and disbelief.

I�m also reading Timeline (Michael Crichton; fiction), and re-reading Code of the Street (Elijah Anderson; nonfiction), and The City of Joy (Dominique Lapierre; nonfiction). See, I wasn�t joking; I read all kinds of books. Plus, I ordered three new ones even though I already have books that I haven�t read yet. If I see a book that interests me, I buy it. It may be years before I read it, but I get to it eventually. It all depends on my mood. I�ve found that I read books when I�m ready. Sometimes, I have more learning to do before I can fully appreciate a book, although those books are usually nonfiction.

Well, that was probably more than you wanted to know about my reading habits. But, there it is.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003