10:37 p.m. | 2002-10-19

Oh, Such The Drama Queen!

My last entry sounds so dramatic. Actually, it sounds like an addict anticipating a fix. Well, that would be an apt analogy as I am totally addicted to books. If you ever wanted to hurt me bad, take away my books. God forbid, I couldn�t live without reading something.

Great book. Not so much for the writing style or �character development� or any of that kind of stuff. Just because I now know her story. My respect and admiration has quadrupled.

This person that I work with, well, she�s a peripheral kind of person. Someone with whom I work with on a regular basis but she doesn�t work where I work, I�ve never met her and I only work with her on certain things. You could think of her as a tech support person, or something of that nature, except it�s more like a joint venture or something.

Anyway, she�s a spitfire. That�s always been apparent. But I didn�t know her exact story or some other facts. We just get down to business. She�s busy, I�m busy � we don�t sit around and shoot the breeze. Like the other day when she called needing something. Here�s how that went. (I�ll dub her AL for Amazing Lady.)

(AL:) I don�t have this and I need it.

(CI:) (Confused, thinking that I had previously faxed it. Pulling file and checking.) Well, I faxed that to you last week. (Talking off the top of my head and reassuring myself that I�m not crazy.)

(AL:) Well, if you faxed it to me last week then I ate it! (She knows I�m dependable but she�s got a lot going on so she misplaces things.)

(CI:) (Busting out in laughter.) I�ll fax it to you as soon as we hang up.

What a great line, don�t you think? �If you faxed it to me last week then I ate it!� See, most people try to wiggle out of stuff like that but she just moves past it. That�s how she�s always been. I�ve always liked that about her. She�s direct and to the point. Just wanting to forge ahead.

The book confirmed that. And, I told her that I had discovered there was a book about her experience, that I had ordered it and had received it the night before. This is that.

(AL:) Have you read it yet?!

(CI:) Well, no. I just got it last night but I plan on reading it as soon as I can.

That�s how she is. Tenacious, strong and determined. And, did I mention that she�s in her 80�s? I had no idea. She�s ageless on the phone.

What was her �experience�? When she was in her 60�s, her long-term �boyfriend� and family friend swindled her out of all her money and then brutally murdered her aunt in order to gain her inheritance.

As sad as that is, due to love, hard work and determination, and after 13 years, he�s now sitting in prison. She wanted justice and she got it. And she continues to help other get the same thing. She�s an amazing lady.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003