4:09 p.m. | 2003-03-02

It�s Now Officially My Favorite European Antique Store.

If you recall, I recently went and checked out a new antique store, which I loved. I was a bit surprised though to find that they also carry British grocery items. As two of the people behind the counter had wonderful accents, I figured the owner(s) is/are British. I think I�m right.

When I made my purchase, I asked to be put on their mailing list. The gentleman told me that if I included my email address, I could also receive their weekly online newsletter. So I did. Turned out to be a good thing since I find the weekly newsletter one of the funniest things I read every Sunday. It helps me start the week with a smile on my face.

So I decided to share some of the stuff I find funny. Here are some outtakes from last week�s newsletter.

I don't normally buy estates locally as I don't want to sell American antiques (nothing personal, I just know little about them - yet).

Also in this week were the following:

2 great wooden garden benches

set of 4 butt ugly dining chairs made in [an infamous] prison

a large load of garden iron work, lots of arches and trellis.

a new range of cushions - check out the deco design!

a fresh boxful of vintage jewelry

a great vintage pottery deco vase

Well, a busy week and despite the full moon, an uneventful one. The weather allows us to hurl everything onto the sidewalk, the interior of the store is rapidly falling apart under the weight of foot traffic. The roof leaks and the toilet is broken - ahhhh life is good.

Now for some highlights from this week�s newsletter.

7.30 on a Sunday morning and this area of town is hopping. There is a car swap meet going on across the road. Hundreds of shoppers walking around in the cold looking at dead cars and bits of dead trucks. I'll open the store early so that they can look at the dead iron that goes into the garden. Rust is good. hehe

I am off to jolly ol' England tonight on a buying frenzy. I plan to get ready a couple of containers and they should be here within 6 weeks. There are new security rules for importing now (as from Jan 1st). Every single container is now X-rayed - at a cost to me of $1000. If they don't like what they see, the container is emptied and checked. It is then badly repacked into two containers and sent to the final destination. I have to pay an extra $1500 if the container is opened. As that can significantly increase costs, I plan to buy a lot more smaller items so that I can spread the extra costs and keep prices down. Sign of the times folks.

Well, that's about it for this week. I did have a customer try to sell me a pair of 1940's workboots for $100, but the men in white coats got him quickly. I also had a little girl stand opposite me at the sales counter and proceed to produce a hearty 3 course breakfast from both her nostrils. Not a pleasant sight, but just so fascinating to watch as she was sooooooo unconcerned and preoccupied. Gross.

I have a feeling I�ll be spending quite a bit of time hanging out there.


A note to the person who recently added me as a favorite but has a locked diary. I'd love to read your diary also however, I can't get into it. Please send me an email and let me know. Thanks.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003