| 2003-03-19

My HCP Almost Killed This Cat, But TranceJen Brought Me Back.

You havta read this entry of TranceJen�s. It�s such wonderful, glorious and happy news! Life altering stuff there.

Now you may want to go read that and skip the rest of this entry because I�m mad right now. Not crazy kinda mad, fucking pissed off royally kinda mad. So I�m gonna rant big time in hopes that it will clear my mind and allow me to revel in the happiness of Trance�s good and unexpected news.

If you choose to keep reading, then read Trance�s entry after mine so you can walk away with warm fuzzies. Because this entry reeks of seething anger. (It does have a happy ending though.)


After waiting 12 days to receive my breathing meds, I decided to call my Health Care Provider (HCP) to see what the problem was. Here�s what went down.

(HCP:) Hi, this is Missy Miss, may I have your HCP number?

(CI:) (Recites HCP number from memory.)

(HCP:) What can I help you with today, CI?

(CI:) (Throughout this conversation, imagine me stopping to take several deep breaths after every three words or so because I can�t breathe well.) I ordered my breathing meds 12 days ago and I still haven�t received it. I�m calling for a status.

(HCP:) It�s been filled and is waiting to be picked up.

(CI:) (At least 5 blood vessels burst simultaneously.) WHAT????!!!! I mean� WHAT????!!!! (Translate: What in the FUCKING HELL ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? I�m over here dying and my meds are just SITTING AROUND WAITING TO BE PICKED UP?)

(HCP:) It�s waiting for pickup.

(CI:) B-B-B-But, they were supposed to be MAILED to me!

(HCP:) Yes. It says right here on the order that they were supposed to mail it to you. But they didn�t. They called it in to your local pharmacy.

(CI:) Which local pharmacy?

(HCP:) The Pharmacy Over There. (The one that is the farthest away from me.)

(CI:) WHAT?! I�ve never been to that pharmacy. I don�t even know where it is. I didn�t even know it existed.

(HCP:) Would you like to pick it up somewhere else?

(CI:) Uh, YEAH. (Translate: DUH.) I�d like to pick it up at the pharmacy I�ve actually been to.

(HCP:) Okay. You can pick it up there in 24 hours� or, if you really need it sooner, you can just go to the closer pharmacy, walk in and pick it up.

(CI:) It�s my breathing meds. I need them up ASAP. Will I have to wait? I�m working against a deadline so I can�t wait around today.

(HCP:) No, you won�t have to wait. Not at all. Just go and pick it up.

(CI:) Okay. Thanks.

So, I went over to the closer pharmacy at lunch to pick it up. When I walked in, I noticed a huge crowd of people all waiting for their various medications. Here�s what happened.

(CI:) (I explain the situation.) I�m here to pick it up.

(HCP:) It says here that you DON�T have a prescription waiting for pickup. I can put in a request and you can wait for it.

(CI:) (At least 5 more blood vessels burst. Again, simultaneously.) NOOOO! She said it was ready and I could just pick it up without waiting. She said so. She did. No waiting, she said. It was ready, she said. NOOO! (Ready to have an instant meltdown right at the counter.)

(HCP:) No. It says you DON�T have a prescription waiting. I could order it and you could wait or come back in a few days.

(CI:) NOOO! She said no waiting. She said I could pick it up. (Translate: Don�t make me come across this counter and kick your fucking ass!)

(HCP:) Okay. Have a seat, it�ll be about 20 minutes.

(CI:) (Walking away to sit down.) But she said no waiting�

Five minutes later, they called my name and handed me my breathing meds. All it cost me is my modest co-pay, ten blood vessels, 16,000 unshed tears of anger and frustration, many days of very labored breathing, one lunch hour and a fair percentage of my sanity.

But since I�ve vented, I feel much better. Now I can focus on Trance�s happy news. And, in a few days, I�ll be able to breathe again. I�m quite excited about that.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003