8:53 p.m. | 2003-04-18

Yeah, So I Went To Cozumel By Proxy.

The person whose desk is closest to me at work is actually not in my division. MyWorkPlace has space issues. Seriously. They have meetings about it and everything. Meetings, memos, strategies. Everything.

Being in close proximity for several years, we�ve become friends. We have a lot in common, but there are some significant differences. She�s 6�2� without shoes; I�m 5�0 with shoes � she wears heels, I wear flats. She�s a lesbian in a long-term committed relationship; I�m a heterosexual chick who�s single. She�s in her early 50�s; I�m in my late 30�s. She�s a bonafide hippy, activist, protestor straight from the 60�s; I�m a part time-hippy, behind the scenes type person mostly from the 70�s. She flies all over the internet superhighway; I�m usually broken down along side of it.

And, she�s seriously a real 60�s hippy. A picture of her in her teen years resides in a book published in that era. There was a man who documented the hippy movement across America via photography and there she is with a fellow hippy. They were hitchhiking at the time.

Anyway, every year, she and her partner travel to tropical paradises for vacation. Last year, it was Belize. This year it was Cozumel, Mexico. Then, during their vacation, she sends me emails every day of vacation highlights and she always attaches pictures and short films of all the interesting sights and stuff. And, of course, she always includes photos of the ocean, beaches and beautiful tropical flowers.

That�s the one time of the year when I have a love/hate relationship with her. There I am, sitting at my desk which is very far removed from beautiful beaches, sunsets and flowers. And then, she sends me these emails telling me how much fun they�re having and showing me all the beautiful sights.

But, she�s cool. She torments me with emails and then brings me back gifts. This time she brought me a beaded necklace, beaded ring and a woven friendship bracelet (really an anklet because my wrists are too small). All handmade by local Cozumel folks. Great stuff there.


In other news, here's the best excuse I�ve heard yet for leaving early.

�Well, I�m going to leave now because I had to park far away so by the time I get to my car, it�d be time for me to go home anyway�.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003