7:34 p.m. | 2003-04-21

My Unpopular Opinion.

Today I attended a bridal shower, at lunchtime, for one of my co-worker friends, Diva Hair (DH). I HATE attending bridal showers and baby showers. I do like wishing my friends well and I don�t mind giving them gifts, but I can�t stand attending these events.

First, they actually had a bridal shower committee. A fucking committee to plan a workplace, lunchtime shower? I don�t know, it seems a little, well, excessive to me, but then I�m not a party planning kind of person. I try to avoid ever being involved in such things.

Second, I paid a handsome amount for both lunch and a group gift certificate. Lunch was provided by a local restaurant and the menu consisted of fettuccini alfredo, salad, bread and cake. I don�t care for fettuccini alfredo, bread or cake. However, I do understand that this was for Diva Hair, not for me. I paid, I ate salad and after the party, I went out and picked up something else.

Because, even though I hate these events, I have no desire to ruin it for someone else. I always do/pay my part, act happy and nice, give gifts and keep my opinions to myself. But, I have a hard time not rolling my eyes because these things are so cheesy to me.

Oh lord, and they even played �games�. Ugh. Is there anything worse than bridal/baby shower games? Mercifully, there were only two games. One was a list of 15 questions about Diva Hair, the groom, the engagement and the wedding plans. I knew the answer to 1 question � the groom�s occupation; I didn�t even know his name. (She�s a VERY private person.) The co-worker that got the most answers correct only got 9 out of 15. And, she�s been eating lunch with Diva Hair for the last 2 years. Like I said, she�s very private.

The second game was the ever-popular word scramble. I�m pretty good at unscrambling words and, as they�re all wedding-related, it�s not that hard. This one had a couple of challenges though � trega (�great�) was really garter, but was missing an �r�; edirlbaedm was really �bridesmade� [sic] but included the letter �l� and an extra �e� and was minus the second �i� (�bridesmaid�). I didn�t win that one either, but I was only faux participating, so that was fine.

Then we watched the bride-to-be open her gifts. (Some people contributed to gift certificates, while others bought items from the bride�s various registry lists.) I have to say that I prefer this tradition at baby showers where all the gifts are cute little baby things. Bridal showers? Not so much. She unwrapped things like a serving bowl, set of coasters, set of canisters, a dozen drinking glasses, etc.

There was lots of ooohhhing and aaahhhing and shrieking. Someone was busy making a �practice wedding bouquet� out of a paper plate, and the various ribbons and bows from the gifts. Another person was snapping photos. Several women were yelling: �Let me see! Let me see!�

And, it took forever for Diva Hair to open her gifts because she was being very careful not to break any ribbons while unwrapping them. You know, because every ribbon you break signifies how many children the newly betrothed couple will have. And, apparently, that number is cumulative and applies to every shower you have (i.e., you add up all the ribbons you broke at any of the showers). In this case, Diva Hair has already had 3 bridal showers and will be having more. (What is up with that?)

I have to admit that I did actually laugh spontaneously when the bride-to-be was having a particularly difficult time unknotting a ribbon and this happened.

(Random Co-Worker #1:) Oh, just get some scissors and cut the ribbon.

(RC#2:) Oh no! What happens when you cut the ribbon?

(RC#3:) (Cutting the ribbon.) Uh� it means you�re going to have a C-Section delivery.

I have found that work bridal/baby showers are less painful then the family/friend ones. Is that not the oddest collection of people ever? All the female family members, friends, co-workers, etc., from her side and his side. Together. Ugh. And, usually by that time, there�s already been lots of fighting (over the wedding plans) between the two sides. Did I say fighting? Um, I meant serious discussions.

Anyway, I know that most women enjoy these events and I respect that. It just so happens that I�d rather watch paint dry.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003