12:50 a.m. | 2003-08-02

My Life Needs To Slow The Hell Up.

Geesh, you�d think I was 20-something. Going out and staying up late every weekend. I don�t know about you guys, but I�m having a blast!


Lets start at the beginning shall we? Actually, that would take us back into last evening.

See, I heard a chain saw going outside. After hours. Now, I�ve lived in regular residential areas, so after hours chain saw noise isn�t uncommon. However, last night, I suddenly realized that the only trees in my new �hood are on the streets and belong to TheCity. Hmmm, I park on the streets. Uh, oh.

I ran downstairs, dashed around the corner and noticed that TheCity was busy trimming huge branches off a gigantic tree right near my car. Upon noticing that someone else�s car was already buried under debris, I quickly interrupted the chain sawing to inquire about the relative safety of my car. My car was fine. The car under the debris? It�s now completely jacked-up.

I�ll need to keep that in mind. You know, for future reference.


Cut to this morning. I was sitting at my desk when this happened.

(CI:) Good Morning. MyWorkPlace. This is Cruel-Irony.

(HotelManager:) Good Morning Cruel-Irony. How are you?

(CI:) Fine, thanks.

(HM:) A man from TheCity needs to talk to you. Here. (She hands him the phone.)

(CI:) (What???) Yes?

(HM:) Hi Cruel-Irony. We�re over here cutting up trees and I need you to move your car. Is that possible?

(CI:) (You all know I just dumped a bunch of money into my car.) YES! I�ll be there in FIVE MINUTES. Wait for me, okay?

(HM:) Sure. I�ll meet you at the site.

(CI:) Thanks for calling!

I practically ran over there. Apparently, after I went back inside last night, they put out signs warning people not to park on the street. I met TheCity guy, moved my car to safety, and noticed TheCity was talking to the man who now has a very jacked up car. He looked very bewildered. Then, I went back to work.

I am so very GRATEFUL to both the HotelManager and TheCity for calling me.

This parking thing can be a little tricky.


After work, I decided to take some film in for developing. I believe it contains pictures of Christmas In July and my new Dreamspace. Okay. That�s not totally true. That�s what it should contain, but I believe it�ll turn out to be an unexposed roll of film with no pictures because I don�t really know how to put film in it. My big camera, sure. A point and shoot that was a gift, no.

Anyway, I asked the young photo lady if she would load my camera if I bought a new roll of film. She agreed to show me how to load it as she wouldn�t be around to do it herself at all the birthday parties and such that I�d be attending.

Just for the record, I�m gonna call before picking up the film I turned in because, whatever I did to load the film was not even remotely close to what she did.

It�s all good though because now I know how to load it, and I know why the pictures never �turned out� the last couple of times I took �em.


Then Lancelot took my car in, got all new tires put on and washed it for me. What a sweetie! Now, my car is much safer and all shiny. Well, and it�s a much smoother ride, that�s for sure.

Lancelot and I had dinner together and yada, yada, yada. I�m sure none of you want to hear about any of that.


Quote of the Day:

Vatican Denounces Gay Marriage. JESUS CHRIIIST! (Heehee) �Jesus Christ�? I crack myself up!� (Hippy responding to headline news.)

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003