11:17 p.m. | 2003-08-09

A Very Special Night.

Tonight, I drove to BossTown to attend her induction into BossTown�s Hall of Fame. I was very honored that she included me amongst her family and friends. (She had a limited amount of tickets.)

It was a fancy event so I wore a cocktail dress � with heels � makeup, my contacts and jewelry even. Boss has never seen me all decked out like that. Here�s her reaction.

(Boss:) Hi Cruel-Irony! I�ve never seen you like this; let me take a look at you. Oh my GAWD! You�re so SEXY! Oh, and your eyes. Wow!

(CI:) Well, now you know why I don�t dress like this for work.

(Boss:) Yeah. If you went to work like that, all the men would be following you everywhere you went. Wow! I just can�t get over how different you look.

See, I save my �sexy� look for the appropriate occasions.


Anyway, I sat in the company of some Very Important People (VIPs) at her �friends� table. Of course, I was on my best behavior because the whole room was chock full of VIPs and I would never want to embarrass Boss. One of the VIPs at our table acts up a bit, but she�s so charming, she can get away with it. She was a lot of fun. I already knew about half the people at the table, and I enjoyed meeting the other folks.

Boss was one of six inductees. The other five are also VIPs and are friends with Boss and/or have worked with her over the last couple of decades. Boss and BossHusband had to sit up on the dais. For each inductee, they showed a clip of photos spanning their lifetimes, with an audio describing their accomplishments/activities over the years. Then the inductee had to give a speech.

Plus there was a cocktail hour followed by dinner and dessert. They had more entertainment following the induction, but I skipped out on that as I had to drive back to MyTown.

You know, Boss is an amazing person. She�s a VIP herself, but you would never know that because she�s very humble and never acts like a VIP. In fact, you�d never know she was unless you hung out with her. Then, you start finding out all the people she knows, and they tell you about all the stuff she�s done. And, let me just say, she�s got some fantastic stories too!

It was a special night and I�m very honored that she included me in it.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003