8:24 p.m. | 2003-09-08

Life�s A Beach.

As I mentioned in my last entry, Lancelot and I went to the beach this weekend. We drove around until we located a perfect place to bask in the sun. We grabbed a blanket and claimed our spot. Before Lancelot even got settled, I had my shoes off and was headed to the water.

Water calms me and I find the ocean particularly beneficial. I planted my feet in the sand and watched the waves break and rush up to cover my feet in refreshingly cold water. I love feeling the tug of the ocean as it recedes.

After a while, I joined Lancelot who was chillin� and people watching. We relaxed together, conversing and whatnot. We stayed until it was the perfect time to leave. Just as the sun started fade, the air turned crisp and the tide came in.

Then, we went back into TheCity to have dinner at a lovely Italian restaurant overlooking the water. I hadn�t been there before, but it�s one of Lancelot�s favorites. For good reason. Excellent service, very romantic atmosphere, and delicious food. And, valet parking. (I really appreciated the valet service as parking in TheCity is ten times the nightmare of parking in MyTown.)

Just for the record, Lancelot always orders for me and does so in a totally romantic way. It may be a small gesture, but it can be tricky to pull it off in the right way. He excels at the right way. And, he reserved a table by the water because he knows how much I love that.

Suffice it to say, we had a lovely weekend away. Lancelot suggested that we go back to the beach soon. I agreed.


At the beach, we saw a man and woman walking along the shoreline with their little pug dog. The man would throw a good-sized ball for Little Pug to retrieve. Little Pug would run as fast as he could, would corral the ball with his legs and then trot back to his people propelling but controlling the ball with his feet as he ran.

At first, I thought the ball was too big for his mouth, since he �walked� it back. However, once, when the ball went into the water and he did actually pick it out of the water with his mouth, then dropped it between his feet and trotted it back without missing a beat.

It was one of the funniest things I�ve ever seen. Not that you�d know that from my description. I found it so funny, I pointed it out to Lancelot. This is that.

(CI:) Hey, check watch that little pug play the retrieval game. Keep your eye on the ball.

(L:) That�s funny! You�d think he�d just pick it up in his mouth.

(CI:) That�s some skill there. Look at how he totally controls the direction of the ball, yet, it doesn�t slow him down at all.

(L:) That�s interesting. And, it�s an ugly, little dog.

(CI:) Oh please. There is no such thing as an ugly dog.

(L:) Yeah, you�re right about that.

On the beach near us, there were two women, two men and a bunch of kids. The kids were enjoying the beach and water while the adults were talking and drinking. At one point, I heard on of the men say this: �Yeah, a �just a big dickhead� is my name.� I took a quick glance, and decided that he might just be right about that.

Later, Lancelot and I both heard this: �Shit! I lost my wedding ring�. Here�s more about that.

(CI:) The man who said that � is he one of the men sitting to our right with the women and kids, etc.

(L:) Yeah.

(CI:) (Turning around to look.) Yeah, that�s the same guy who said his name was �dickhead� earlier.

The man set about to find his ring. In the sand. At the beach. A very long stretch of the beach. With lots of sand. Well, and water. We heard a lot of cursing.

(CI:) I�m guessing that his wife is thinking that he�s a dickhead right about now.

(L:) Well, he does seem more interested in his beer than finding his ring.

(CI:) Interesting.


Quote of the Day.

�You went to the ocean this weekend, didn�t you? I can tell by looking at you.� (Boss, upon greeting me this morning.)

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003