8:34 p.m. | 2003-09-28

Dreaming Big?

Last night I dreamt that I was on a barge in the ocean. Suddenly, a huge wave overtook the vessel and pitched me right over the side. I plunged into the water. Then my dream cut to me trying to find a decent public restroom to wash up in and whatnot. To no one�s surprise, I couldn�t find one.

I woke up with a full bladder. And laughing.

A barge? What the fuck is that all about? Why not a yacht? Or even a cabin cruiser?

Now, I�ve been on all sorts of water vessels such as canoes, paddle boats, fishing boats, glass-bottom boats, jet-skis, ski boats, cabin cruisers, houseboats, ferries and cruise ships. But, no barges. None at all.

I�ve seen barges on TV and I may have seen one or two in real life, but really, they�re not a big theme in my life.

A barge, I tell you, a barge! To quote � or maybe paraphrase -- lagrimitas, do you ever wonder where in the hooey your dreams come from?


In other news, I experienced a rather odd moment at brunch yesterday. I�ve been going to a new place the last few weeks since my favorite place closed down. It�s okay. The menu and the clientele are rather diverse, and that works for me. There are some kinks I need to work out, but I�m sure it�ll all be good.

Anyway, I was reading the paper when the waitress seated two couples next to my table. I immediately identified them as senior citizens. I went on with my reading and all when, suddenly, my ears perked up.

See, the folks next to me were all jazzed up about the soon-to-be-released CD boxed set of Peter Paul & Mary. Then, they started discussing their tour schedule.

I cut my teeth on folk music. My lullabies, if you will, consisted of the folk music from the late �60s and early �70s. I can and still do sing these songs on a regular basis.

I have some things in common with seniors, but I never expected that it�d involve music outside of jazz, swing and classical tunes. And, let me tell you, they sounded like teenagers. They�ve planned their whole vacation around the concerts.

It was an odd moment, being one and all with the senior folks. And, like them, I want that CD boxed set too. Go figure.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003