6:28 p.m. | 2003-10-05

Our Exciting Adventure.

Yesterday, Bestest Girlfriend (BG) picked me up in the morning and we headed to ThatCity for the Special Event. Now, when we were invited, it was requested that we each ask an intelligent and pertinent question during the Event. It seemed like an easy task but you�d thought we�d been asked to translate the Tax and Revenue Code into layman�s terms.

Since we couldn�t think of any brilliant questions to ask, we changed the subject and talked about other stuff. I suppose we figured we�d be struck with some sudden inspiration when we arrived. We got there early and finally came up with a couple of inquiries. Here�s that.

(CI:) I�m going with a general and rather vague question. I figure if they get too many specific questions and want the opportunity to talk about something else, they can use my question. What�d you come up with?

(BG:) Well, I have a specific question, but I can�t figure out how to make it brief. I need to include some background before the question which makes it kind of convoluted. It�s intelligent though.

(CI:) Yeah, that is a good question, but there really is no way to make it shorter. We better go.

When we checked in, we had to write our questions on a card and include our name and where we were from. Then we went to find a seat. Here�s that.

(CI:) Oh shit! There are lights everywhere! And, it�s theatre seating. We can�t hide.

(BG:) Well, lets sit in the back somewhere.

Now, remember how we were hoping there wouldn�t be a camera there? Yeah, uh, that was apparently a pretty na�ve hope. While we waiting, we were told what to expect. This is that.

(Coordinator:) Okay, you�ll all sit in this area, and the press will set up behind you. There will be journalists from television networks and newspapers, such as MajorNationalTelevisionNewsNetwork, MainNationalNewspaper, and even HugeNationalFamousJournalist will be joining us. They will approach you before and after the Special Event and you�re welcome to talk to them, however if you don�t want to, just say no.

BG and I exchanged shocked looks. I quietly muttered �Oh FUCK�, while BG�s eyes lit up with excitement.

(Coordinator:) Before ThisSuperImportantPerson reads your question, she�ll say your name. When you hear your name, stand up. Someone near you will hand you a microphone. After your question is answered, ThisSuperImportantPerson will ask you if your question has been adequately addressed. If so, say yes. If not, you may ask follow up questions until you�re satisfied that your question has been answered.

BG and I were in shock. But, in different ways. Although I have no problem with public speaking and have done tons of it, I�m usually teaching people about something so the focus really isn�t on me. Other than that, I�m really a behind-the-scenes type person and don�t feel comfortable when the focus is all on me personally.

BG also doesn�t much care to be the focus of attention either, but she was quite intrigued with the idea of speaking with all these well-known, national journalists. She was downright giddy at the thought; I wanted to disappear. However we both wanted to check out this Special Event since we�d never been to one of this kind before.

Well, and this was a prime time people watching opportunity too. We did a TON of that.

Anyway, before they got started, BG and I were discussing the one thing we were really nervous about. To wit.

(BG:) What do we do if they ask us ThisQuestion? How do we respond?

(CI:) I don�t know. Lets just hope they don�t ask that. I mean, why would they? God, I hope they don�t ask ThisQuestion.

(BG:) Me too.

(Journalist:) (To me.) Hi, I�m with the MainNationalNewspaper. ThisQuestion?

(CI:) (I freeze.)

(BG:) Well, blah, blah, blah.

The journalist moved on.

(BG:) Wow! I spoke to a MainNationalNewspaper reporter. That�s so cool! Do you think I answered ThisQuestion okay?

(CI:) Yeah, I thought it was a good answer. It was the truth, of course, but you stated it well.

(BG:) Oh, I want to talk to HugeNationalFamousJournalist too! This is great!

(CI:) Well, if anyone else asks me a question, please feel free to answer it for me because I certainly don�t want to.

It�s not that I don�t like journalists or anything, I�m just afraid I�ll mess up my words or that my words will be taken out of context or something. That happens. I do have to say that I was directed to speak with a reporter once and he reported exactly what I said. However, I did beg him not to print my name � for a good reason � but he did anyway. Fortunately, nothing bad came out of it, so it all worked out in the end.

Anyway, the reporter from MainNationalNewspaper sat to my left and behind me. During the Event, he sneezed, I blessed him and he thanked me. See, now that I can handle. After it was over, another reporter asked me ThisQuestion and I quickly excused myself and ran off leaving BG to answer her.

The Special Event went well, but they ran out of time and, thankfully, never asked BG or I our questions. We let out a huge sigh of relief when it ended.

We ran into some people we know who were also in attendance, and they introduced us to many Super Important People. That was very cool.


One thing BG and I discovered though, was that we subconsciously adopt a certain posture when we attend special events. We always dress appropriately, sit up straight, and have very subdued facial expressions. However, we also never, ever look at each other but can tell that we want to.

We can�t look at each other because we�d start laughing. See, we people watch a lot together and tend to find the same things interesting, humorous and/or strange. Normally, we�d discuss it, but when we have to suppress it, it makes us giggle. Because we�re six. It�s tough to act like a grown up sometimes.


One of my favorite writers is back after taking a break. Go check out Psychobabbles. Go now.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003