12:13 a.m. | 2003-10-30

I Hope The Moonies Never Come For Me In The Wee Hours Of The Morning.

As I mentioned recently, Dearest Sister dyed my hair. But only because she caught me very, very early in the morning. That time when I�m not quite asleep yet I�m not really awake. That�s when my mind does some freaky, weird association thing, while drifting in and out of sleep.

I�m so not a morning person.

Anyway, I moved from a psuedo-suburban (still within the downtown area) to a totally urban place. Quiet to noisy, in a lot of ways. One of which confounded me for the last few months.


Let me back up a little. See, when I found my Dreamspace, everything was, well, normal. However, on the moving day, I discovered a huge amount of fencing around the building next door. I didn�t pay much attention to that fact, or the fact that part of the street was barricaded.

Anyway, it amounted to some roadwork and a tremendous amount of renovation going on next door.

Still, I really didn�t absorb most of that. I was MOVING for Pete�s sakes. (Whoever Pete is � no offense, by the way.)


So, my point is that for the last several months, I�ve been awakened from my slumber by what I thought was garbage trucks. I mean, really, that�s what they sounded like. I admit that I was a little confounded by their frequency � every weekday morning � and their numbers � at least five every day.

I just figured it was part of urban living. You know, a few garbage dumpsters, different recycle bins, yada yada. Blah, blah, blah.

However, I just found out recently that those noisy vehicles are construction trucks. And, they�ll be coming and going for the next year. Or so.

Some people at TheHotel have complained. Not me though. Because they only come on the weekdays and, frankly, they�re louder than my alarm clock. And, they come frequently enough that they�re like a snooze button. Eventually, they get my ass out of bed.

Anyone or anything that can accomplish THAT should be applauded. It�s not an easy task. Just saying.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003