10:59 p.m. | 2003-11-18

Sisterhood, It�s A Beautiful Thing.

First off, thanks to everyone who has taken a moment to drop me a line. I appreciate it more than I can express. Second, if you�re still reading me, thanks. I�m behind on reading, updating and responding to emails and such.

And, uh, pretty much everything else. I�ve got some catching up to do, but I�ll get there.


Anyway, I called DearestSister (DS) a couple of weeks ago and left her a message. As I didn�t hear back from her, I knew she never received it. (That�s the tricky part of having a teenager in your home -- in her home, not mine.) So, I called her again. Here�s that.

(DS:) (Picking up after screening the call.) Hey CI, what�s going on?

(CI:) Well, I called a couple of weeks ago with an update but since I haven�t heard back, I�m sure you didn�t get that message.

(DS:) No, I didn�t; I would�ve called you right away. What�s up?

(CI:) I�ll be laid off at the end of the year.

(DS:) What?! That�s insane.

(CI:) Insane, but true.

(DS:) That�s just stupid. But, I�m sure you�ll be fine. I mean, with your experience, education and contacts� I�m sure it�ll all work out.

(CI:) Me too. At least, I�m hoping that�s the case.

(DS:) What can I do? Seriously. I want to do something. Tell me what I can do.

(CI:) Well, you can promise that if I don�t find a job here that you�ll hire me.

(DS:) Oh, you know I would. In a second.

(CI:) Other than that, there�s not really anything you can do at the moment.

(DS:) Well, everything happens for a reason.

(CI:) Yeah. Lets hope the reason I moved to TheHotel was because I�m supposed to live in TheHotel as opposed to being one of the homeless people living out back.

(DS:) Okay. Now that was funny.

(CI:) I thought so too.

(DS:) I�m sure you�ll be fine though.

Is it any wonder why I call her DearestSister?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003