4:01 p.m. | 2003-12-20

Short Story Long.

As I mentioned, quite succinctly, in my previous entry, I was being laid off but now I�m not.

To quote deeranged, �What the fu**?� Exactly. This isn�t an easy situation to describe, but I�ll give it my best shot.


A while back, a decision was made � erroneously, I believe � to dissolve MyWorkPlace. However, it was determined � correctly, I believe � that some divisions shouldn�t be dissolved, but rather, they should be merged into AnotherPlace. An assumption was made � erroneously, I believe � that OurDivision was not one that should be saved, so to speak.

In addition, the reasons behind the original decision ceased to exist but the ball was already rolling down the proverbial hill. And, of course, it was discovered that this dissolution/merger was quite a bit more complex than anyone had anticipated.

Apropos of nothing, let me just suggest that, if you�re gonna sucker-punch someone, you might want to consider the consequences prior to making contact.

Anyway, about half of my colleagues were being merged while the other half were being laid off. As such, people started bailing right and left. (Just as a note, none of these decisions were based on job performance - top performers and slackers are in both groups.)


Meanwhile, in OurDivision � due to a very odd set of circumstances � our slow season never really materialized. Rather, our super busy season has continued, and it appears that it�s just going to blend right into our next super busy season.

As such, we�ve been working overtime, doing our regular work in addition to many special projects, which hasn�t left us much energy for job hunting. Albeit, we�ve been doing some of that too.

Anyway, at the beginning of this week, I was going to be laid off. By the middle of the week, I received an offer of a demotion, but by Friday, I had my job back. There�s still some tinkering to do, but at least I don�t have to face unemployment or a seriously huge pay cut at the moment.

For that, I have many people to thank. I was amazed at the number of people, and the lengths that they went to, who rallied to prevent me from being laid off. I was quite touched and very appreciative.


I�ve worked for a lot of places that have dissolved, and it�s not really been that big of deal in the past. I just went and got another job prior to the final day. However, this time around, I was facing joblessness in the midst of grieving � for the loss of several family members and others � during the holiday season, and at a time in my life when I have certain financial obligations (rent, law school loan payment) which require a certain salary level. Not to mention medical benefits.

In addition, since I�m my sole provider, I don�t have as many options for back up plans. No second income� no family home to move back into� too old to join the military. And, last time I checked, prostitution doesn�t come with a benefits package. Heh.

I must say though, that I thank my lucky stars that I�m not a single parent.


So, I came home last night � much relieved � and laid down on the couch to watch TV. I promptly went comatose, waking up in the wee hours of the morning to crawl into bed. I haven�t slept that well in a really long time. I don�t even think I took my sleeping meds. And, of course, I woke up ravenously hungry. Haven�t been eating too well either.

Then, get this, I went grocery shopping. I know, I know. I didn�t really enjoy it, but I�ve got food. I even got a dash of Christmas spirit and bought a small potted Christmas tree. And, I�m doing laundry.

I�ll be cooking tomorrow and I�m even toying with the idea of cleaning.


And, you guys have been so great. I know I haven�t been as responsive as I normally am, and I should�ve sent out Christmas cards and emails, etc., but I really do appreciate all your continuous support over the last few months. It�s hard to express how much it has meant to me.

Thanks.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003