10:41 p.m. | 2004-02-02

I Tend To Keep A Routine. You Might Call Me �Habitual�. Or Maybe Not.

There�s this board at NewWorkPlace where we have to move our �dot� to check in and out. If we�re out, we have to take a sharpie approach and write where we are.

I have no problem with this. Theoretically.

At my OldWorkPlace, I had my own personal white board right outside my office. And, I wrote on it every time I stepped away. However, Boss never checked it so it didn�t do much good. That didn�t stop me, of course, it just made that exercise irrelevant.


The board at my NewWorkPlace is a centralized board � where everyone has to sign in and out � and is located all the way down the hallway from where I�m at. Honestly, I�m trying to retrain myself. And, by the look of the board, I�m mostly alone in my pursuit.

However, at our most recent meeting, NewBoss stressed, again, how important it is to check in and out and list our whereabouts. No issue here. Except, I forget since it�s down the hall and whatnot.

NewBoss also admitted that he lags in this task and asked to be told when he does so. As it�s located right outside his office, well you know, it less work for him than me. Just saying.


So, this afternoon, I walked all the way down the hallway to talk to NewBoss but he wasn�t in his office. I made an inquiry and discovered he wasn�t even in the building. Which, of course, prompted me to take a marker and write, �where are you?� after his name on the board.

Not to my surprise, it worked. He walked down to my office, after making inquiries I�m sure, and asked what I wanted. We worked things out but didn�t quite settle the score. That came later.

Yeah, at the end of the day even. I grabbed a sharpie, moved my dot to �out�, took the cap off the pen and this happened.

(NB:) Uh, you don�t have to write down �home� when you�re going home.

(CI:) Funny that. See, I forgot where I was going, but see how I have the pen all ready? Because I�m leaving the building?

(NB:) Yeah. Ha. Ha.

(CI:) I take it as a good sign. I�m being �habitual� about checking in and out. That�s good, right?

(NB:) You know CI, I really don�t want to see you being habitual about anything.

And, I have to admit, given the subjects that we deal with, �habitual� was probably not a good term to use. Nonetheless, that cracked me up.

I�m a creature of habit, that's for sure.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003