| 2004-03-07

Tomorrow Is A Big Day I Guess. It�s Certainly Gonna Be Bigger Than Today. That Much I Know.

Is it wrong to stay in bed for sixteen hours? If so, shame on me. It�s not like I didn�t get up occasionally, but I didn�t get �up� up until 4:00pm today. See, not getting up allows me to shirk regular chores. Well, and all that other stuff that needs doing.

I must say though, that I still managed to eat and read the paper before I got �up�. Plus I got caught up on laundry.

Being behind on laundry is an unusual state for me to be in, as is Texas, but, I�ve been keeping the whole washing machine scandal behind my back. And, away from you. Not because I don�t want you to be informed, more so because it�s really, really boring and irritating, now that I mention it.

You might not remember, so I�ll remind you, that there�s only one washer and dryer for the whole building. Long story short, two weeks ago the washer went kaput which put a monkey wrench in, well, my life.

It wouldn�t have been so dramatic had I just gone to the laundry mat, but I refused that option due to my princess-like nature. Or, rather, I just didn�t want to go there. Because I�m a princess with only a laundry bag that holds one load, and not with a laundry basket which holds more than that.

And, I�m sloth-ish � less with the tree hanging and more with the laying upon a nice bed of leaves or something.

New machine� all caught up� good laundry day.


So tomorrow. Yeah. I�m meeting YoungerSister, YSHusband and LittleNephew for dinner in order to purchase and receive her spare car. Apparently, LN is quite excited about this event. I discovered that when I talked to YS this weekend. Here�s that.

(CI:) (Answering the phone.) Hello?

(YS:) Hi. Just calling to make sure we�re on for Monday night.

(CI:) Sure. But, I was wondering if you could pick me up from work� otherwise I�d have to walk and that�d take a while.

(YS:) Yeah, no problem. I was thinking the same thing.

(CI:) Great. Hey, do you know where I work now?

(YS:) Um, no, that�s why I was calling. I know �where� you work, but I don�t know the address.

(CI:) Funny that� I don�t know the address either � I don�t have my business cards yet � but I can tell you how to get here. (Business cards are my cue cards, you know? Well, when they�re not acting as note paper.)

(YS:) Great. Is this restaurant okay?

(CI:) Sure. You know I love it and I haven�t been there for a while.

(YS:) I thought LN would like it.

(CI:) Of course. He�ll love it. Oh, I can�t wait to see him. Uh, not that I don�t also enjoy seeing you guys, just, uh� you know�

(YS:) He figured out that something�s happening so he�s all about the questions now. And, he talks about you constantly. Every [fricking] day. (Emphasis added. And, LN is 3 years old.)

(CI:) Really?

(YS:) Oh, and here�s the story. See, he�s noticed that I�m driving the green car and not the white car, but I�ve been doing stuff to the white car. He kept asking what was up so I told him that you were taking the white car and we were getting it ready. LN wanted to know why so I told him your car broke.

(CI:) Heh. That�s funny. It is broke. Well, for the most part.

(YS:) Yeah, he doesn�t really know that it�s not �broke� broke. Just so you know. But, he talks about it every day. You know, how we�re bringing you the white car because your car is broke. And, of course, that we get to go to dinner. He can�t wait to see you. He mentions it every day. Broke car, Aunt Cruel-Irony, broke car, going to go see Aunt Cruel-Irony� every day. He even talks about it at preschool.


You know YS is sick of all that talk about me, albeit she really loves me and tries hard to make sure LN and I see each other. However, it�s one of those odd genetic things that happen sometimes. Certain traits get passed randomly amongst family members of various generations. That kind of thing. Know what I�m talking about?

Here�s LN�s actual I-totally-understand-you lineage: Uncle B � Aunt Cruel-Irony � Little Nephew. I mean, it�s a longer lineage, of course, but that�s the particular branch I�m familiar with. Note that I�m not hanging from it � like a sloth � but resting in the shade beneath it. And, it�s also interesting that it doesn�t involve either my parents or his.

But, YS � not being from that particular limb � doesn�t really �get� LN. Of course, she loves him and is a fantastic parent. Yet, put LN and I in a room together and we�re either laughing our heads off or involved in a very serious investigation of a situation, or a pile of rocks, which requires our full attention and analytical skills.

At some point, I�m sure his 3-year-old repetitive chatter about his wacky Aunt Cruel-Irony wears a little thin. Not because it�s about me, just because it�s 3-year-old repetitive chatter.

Which I can�t wait to hear.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003