10:16 p.m. | 2004-12-15

Virtual Virus.

I stole this from mnlady1962 who is very, very cool.

20 years ago:

I was 20 years old.
I had already been on my own (financially, physically and emotionally) for almost three years.
I started college, studying computer science. At night.
I lived in a small town in MyState. It was the first town I ever lived in that had stoplights.
I worked fulltime during the day as a claims processor for an insurance company in a neighboring �city�.
My boyfriend proposed and I said yes. Several months later, I called the wedding off. One of the best decisions I�ve ever made. Sad to say, he�s still so pissed off about that he won�t even look at me. Even though he�s been married for about 15 years and has two children.

15 years ago:

I was 25 years old.
I was still on my own.
I was still attending college, at night, studying computer science.
I had moved to the neighboring �city� (about double the population of the small town).
I was living with my first � and last -- roommate. Learned that I prefer to live alone or with a boyfriend.
I worked fulltime as a computer programmer.

10 years ago:

I was 30 years old.
I had been involved in a serious relationship (that ended), but had mostly been single and dating.
I had received a degree in computer science, another in business administration and started law school (the night program, of course.) I worked fulltime as a technical writer for a financial institution.
I had moved to another nearby city. A real city; the one I live in now. (Just to note: MyTown has a gazillion stoplights. Obviously, I�ve come a long way. If "a long way" is measured by traffic lights.)

5 years ago:

I was 35 years old.
Another serious relationship ended and I was, once again, single.
I had finally completed my education and graduated from law school with a juris doctorate.
I was working fulltime as an agency administrator for a nonprofit organization. I learned a ton at that job� not so much about work stuff, mostly about cultural issues. I also started mentoring a young pregnant mother. Some of the hardest but most rewarding and educational work I�ve ever done.

3 years ago:

I was 37 years old.
I was single.
I no longer went to school and I didn�t have to do homework. That made me very, very happy.
I was working as an analytical writer for a new employer.
I was finally able to take up hobbies. Because I didn�t have to do homework or go to class. Gardening was my favorite new-found hobby.
I was still mentoring the young mother and was helping her to parent the baby I helped to deliver. (The birth of a child is an amazing thing. It was more pleasant for me than the mother though.)
My father would die in the following year. But, I didn�t know that then.

1 year ago:

I was 39 years old.
I was single. Surprise!
I had moved DownTown.
I was expecting to be laid off at the end of the year.
My father had died. Within the year, he was followed by Younger Sister�s father-in-law, my aunt (MyDad�s sister), my grandmother (mother�s side), my uncle (husband of my aunt who died) and, finally, my ex-brother-in-law (who was found dead on the first anniversary of MyDad�s death. It was a tough year.
I had to give up my birds to move DownTown. I became petless for the first time in my life.
I attended JournalCon 2003 in Austin. I had an absolute blast! I had the honor of rooming with trancejen. And, I met lots of truly great people.
Due to the lack of a yard, I became the porch gardener with a bevy of container plants.

This year:

I turned 40 years old.
I dated here and there and then gave up. Not forever, necessarily, just for a while. Hence, I�m still single.
I was miraculously transferred to a new workplace (related to the old one) and continued doing the same work � analytical writing.
My job transfer came with a lot of changes and a lot of new, and kind of fun, perks.
I didn�t have any deaths in the family. I consider that an accomplishment.
I attended more parties than I have in the last five years.
I wasn�t able to attend JournalCon 2004. Which broke my heart.
I continued to struggle with fibromyalgia. Some things are better; some are worse.
I voted and tried to serve on a jury (got dismissed). I�m all about my civic duties.
I spent more time with all three of my nephews.
I giggled uncontrollably a lot. Which is good since I worked my ass off. (By nature, I�m a hard worker, but please, I�m getting old. Seriously, sometimes, enough is enough.)

Yesterday:

I worked.
I ate which is one of my favorite things to do.
I ran errands which I only do two days a week. That�s the only time, generally speaking, that I drive too. Love that.
I did some minor, last minute Christmas shopping. Since my family celebrates Christmas in July, I only have to do minor, random shopping this time of year to accommodate those who celebrate Christmas in December.
I made some phone calls to inquire about obtaining YoungerSister�s birthday present (her birthday was in November; obviously, our family plays a little free and loose with date-related celebrations). Um, not so successful. I had to formulate a backup plan.
I cried. Which I just don�t do because, you know, girlsdontcry.
I took 7,403 steps (1.634 miles).
I updated my diary. Yay!

Today:

I went to work and attended several long meetings. T-Bar almost got me in trouble because he sat next to me and kept whispering funny remarks in an attempt to crack me up. He succeeded several times. It doesn�t take much.
I brought my lunch to work and ate it. I love going out for lunch so that�s quite an accomplishment for me.
After work, I had my picture taken with a famous person. I know that�s random and weird. Don�t ask me how these things happen because it�s not at my hand. That�s for sure. My life is just kind of random and weird like that. But hey, it could be worse and often has been, so yeah� I don�t know.
I came home and made a three-bean salad for tomorrow�s potluck.
I watched TV because this is one of my favorite nights. I�m sort of hooked on reality TV and tonight? Yeah, America�s Next Top Model, Nanny 911 and Wife Swap. What can I say?

Tomorrow:

I am going to continue reading My Shadow Ran Fast by Bill Sands.
I am going to work since they pay me to do that and such.
I am going to update my diary. (You skeptics out there? Hush.)
I am going to come home and collapse. It�s been a very busy week and it�s not over yet.
I will probably watch some TV.

In 1 year:

I will be 41 years old.
I will probably still work for the same employer doing the same thing.
I will be thinking hard about moving (within MyTown). And, doing some research.
I will have a new nephew.
I hope I�ll have been to the ocean. It�s been too long since my last visit.

In 5 years:

I will be 45 years old.
Maybe I�ll be married. It�s possible. You just never know, you know?
I�ll still be working and paying off my law school loan.

In 10 years:

I will be 50 years old.
I will only have 15 more years of payments on my law school loan.
I will be much sassier than I am now. Practice makes perfect.
I will still be gardening.
I will ROCK.

If you ever wanted a bio from me, I suggest that you embrace this entry rather vigorously since it�s probably as close as I�m ever going to come to telling my life story. So to speak.

However, you just never know.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003