10:01 p.m. | 2005-02-17

What Were You Like In High School?

One of my friends asked me that question recently. It�s an interesting and enlightening question. Frequently, people have some sort of immediate response. And, it�s often an image that differs from who that person is now.

Not so much with me. At least, I don�t think so. The person I was in high school doesn�t differ much in substance. Other than things that come from maturation, more life experience and exposure to different environments and/or cultures.

I was a teacher�s child. And yes, MyDad taught at the high school I attended. We lived in a small town and it was a small high school. I not only knew all the other students, I also knew all the teachers since they were friends of my parents. Fortunately for me, the other students and teachers thought MyDad was really cool.

Hence, that gave me an unexpected and unappreciated amount of popularity. I really had no desire to hang out with the �popular group�, so I didn�t. I was friends with pretty much everyone, but my best friends only consisted of a few people.

I thought high school was merely part of growing up. My experience seemed normal to me. I did quite well academically, had no problem making friends or dating, and I stayed true to myself. Those things haven�t changed.

Other things have though. I�ve matured, learned much more and have been exposed to many different life experiences. But, I�m still myself. It�s too much work to be someone other than me. Really. I�m quite a handful already� I just don�t have the energy to take on another persona.

Not surprisingly, it was my smart mouth that got me in the most trouble in high school. That�s not changed. Ever. Pretty much? Ever since I started talking, my smart mouth has always landed me in hot water.

And, when I keep my mouth shut? It comes out in my expressions. I�m not sure if that part of me will ever be tamed. I�d like to think so, but that�s some optimistic thinking there. I tend to be forward-thinking, but I�m not sure I�ll ever catch up to my mouth.


But, nevermind about me� what were you like in high school?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003