10:03 p.m. | 2005-03-16

Out Of Commission.

As of late, I�ve been ailing. At first, I thought it was a sinus problem but that�s not the case. Well actually, it is in one sense (ha) since my allergies are flared up, but I�m sick in addition to all that.

Things have been going around. And sometimes, I pick things up. I haven�t been this sick in a while though. I truly hope I wasn�t infectious when I attended YoungerSister�s baby shower.


I started feeling it on Sunday. When I�m sick, my tolerance level is quite low. Hence, I had absolutely NO patience for the whole I-thought-it-was-gone domestic violence issue down the hall. None. In fact, since I thought it was gone (and I was sick), I thought all the hallway door slamming, yelling and carrying on was some sort of fraternity party gone wrong. Youngsters do live in this building and they do stupid stuff sometimes.

Actually, I didn�t really care what the cause was, I was just hugely annoyed. The tenants in TheHotel are usually not that immature. Youngsters have thrown kegger parties in this building and I�ve been none the wiser. Running down the halls, yelling and screaming while slamming all the fire doors? Not so much. Or ever.

When I realized what it really was, I called the cops. I�ve not ever done that before, but I was done with all that. (And honestly, had I been able to catch them in the act of the slamming of the doors, I was ready to take them out myself. Lord knows I tried. Several times. I just wasn�t quick enough. That�s probably a good thing.)

It was quiet for a while � an hour or so � and then it started up again. Someone else called the cops that time; I just added my two cents and then planted myself in front of the building to make sure it�d stop.

Unbeknownst to me was that DVA was arrested after I called. The second time? Not so sure what was going on, but somehow there was still fighting even though DVA was in jail. The cops talked to Ms. DVA for a while on their second visit, which was within 15 minutes of the first, and things calmed down again.

The final protest came from Ms. DVA herself. She waited a half-hour after the cops left before she made one final run up and down the hallway slamming all the doors. Then she was quiet for her last couple of days of residency.

They�re gone now and I�m quite happy about that.

I�m not unsympathetic though � unless it�s down the hallway, I guess � because the pathology of domestic violence is very complicated and destructive. It�s not simply a matter of leaving, or locking a door or moving.

And, it doesn�t just include fisticuffs. In some ways, it�s actually easier if it�s physical because you can call the cops in those situations. It�s much worse when it�s purely verbal because then it�s a matter of he said/she said.

Okay, I�m done with this issue and I hope it doesn�t come around again.

In other news, I�m feeling better so I hope to go to work tomorrow. For the last three days, I�ve awakened; showered, got all dressed up and then completely ran out of breath. Lets just hope that doesn�t happen tomorrow because I could use a change of scenery.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003