11:01 p.m. | 2005-04-13

It�s All About Context. Well, And Framing. It�s Important How You Frame Things Vis-�-vis the Context. Except When You Just Ignore All Those Restraints.

I recently revisited my old law school in order to buy a frame for my law degree. I was determined this time. Since I was determined, I actually went there when the bookstore was open. That helps. Quite a bit actually.

However, that meant that the whole campus was full of students � and parking was difficult � but no matter. It was rather fun to be honest. It was a great feeling to walk onto the campus, when it was in full swing, and not feel any of the angst that comes with law school.

All the people I saw? Oh, so many scrunched-up faces� the fear so palpable�

Not so for me. I let several people go in front of me since I knew they had to get to class on time. And, their purchases? Minor. Mostly candy. I�d garner a bet that candy is the biggest seller in the bookstore. Not the most expensive buy, but probably the most common.

Anyway, in the midst of this crucial time, I asked for the frame I wanted. The sole cashier had to sift through the backroom inventory to meet my request. Hence, I became the focus of a huge queue. I got what I wanted though. Here�s some of that.

(Cashier:) I�m so glad I checked the stock because I thought we were sold out. Here it is. (Trying to open this HUGE box and present the frame to me. Eventually succeeding.)

(LawStudentBehindMe:) Wow. That�s gorgeous. (Sigh.) Graduation is sooo far away.

(Cashier:) (To me.) Is this okay?

(CI:) Yeah, that�ll do.

Even I�m appalled at my response. Well, maybe not appalled. Actually, I was just trying to speed things along but �that�ll do�?

Fitting perhaps, but not flattering. It�s been SEVEN years since I graduated law school. I�ve finally framed my diploma and �that�ll do�? Heh. I even thumped the frame with my forefinger like you do when you�re checking out tires. And, people stood in line and witnessed that. Mind you, they didn�t stand in line in order to witness that proud moment of mine; they were just innocent bystanders trying to buy candy.

Don�t get me wrong, I think my law school diploma is great � seriously, I ranked 12th in my class � and I think all my other educational diplomas are great also. Just that life is not about ONE thing. It�s about a whole bunch of things.

I related to all those scrunched-up faces but I�m past that. By seven years at least. Life goes on � people go in different directions � life propels you one way or the other� it�s endless.


I must say, life has been propelling me in many different directions nowadays. I�ve been attending a lot of functions. Too many to count. Educational seminars, topical meetings (note: topical not tropical), press events� even health festivals. Just weird work-related stuff. It�s all good just rather odd.

Actually, the events aren�t so odd, just what I�ve been doing has been odd. To me anyway. Perhaps it�s time management that has made me so perfunctory and direct. Or maybe it�s my newfound confidence. Could be a combination. No matter what it is, I�ve been walking up and introducing myself to the person. (Whomever is the most important person in the room.) Without any regard to whom that person is.

Does that make sense?

Probably not since I haven�t given you all the facts, but I�ve introduced myself to some amazing people recently. People most of you would recognize, in fact.

I�ve been bold. Lets just say that. And then put the context within the frame. No matter where my day takes me, I�m still just a Diarylander who forefinger-knuckle-knocks a diploma frame.

Heh. It takes all kinds�

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003