10:42 p.m. | 2005-04-18

Hurry Up And Wait.

Today was a big day. YoungerSister�s husband (YSH) came to MyTown to receive an honor. He�s already received a national honor; this was a state honor. YS asked me, a couple of months ago, if I�d take care of LittleNephew (LN) whilst the honoring thing was happening. Of course, I agreed.

See, LN is a little shy and YS thought it�d be better if he viewed it from a distance and wasn�t all up in the mix of things. I agreed. So, arrangements were made and whatnot and it came down to today.

LN is several months shy of being 5 years old. These type of honor things? They don�t happen quickly. Today was pretty much a test of LN�s patience. Fortunately, he has some of that. Some, mind you, not a bevy.

This happened while we were waiting.

(YSH:) See Son, this is the real world� you have to hurry up to wait.

(CI:) Oh, so true. That�s what these hallways are all about. And, it�s really sad when you spend all day here only to miss the five seconds that are the most important. (Um� that�s called foreshadowing. Unfortunately.)

Yeah. LN and I missed the important moment because we couldn�t clear security fast enough. (We were behind several grade school tours � love the kids, hate the delay factor. And, all the crap they come with. They�re amongst the slowest to get through security.)

We did get to see the honoring ceremony on TV though. In the hallway. At the very front of the security checkpoint. Couldn�t hear it because of all the kids, but we got close.

The really sad thing is that all of us adults understood all this stuff, but I don�t think LN appreciated it much. For him? After waiting many hours, nothing seemed to happen. Albeit, I don�t think all was lost on him. He got tons of attention, got to see new things and then we all lunched together.


But do you know who�s even slower to get through security than the kids? Yeah, the bikers. That was interesting. It was biker day today and I swear, those guys are made of metal. It took some time just to get into the building.


Know what else? I�m an aunt again! YS delivered another son early Friday morning. Very early, matter of fact. What�s his name? Why, it�s BabyNephew, of course. And, LN is very excited about his new baby brother. He showed me pictures and every thing. We have another cutie on our hands.


Quote of the day:

�LN, your eyes have their own vocabulary.� ~ CI. Of course, he immediately threw me some sideways huge baby blues and chuckled.

Plus he snorted. In the most important place in the hallway. And, he did it loudly so it sounded like one of the adults around him. I must confess that I giggled. Because, that�s just funny. Sorry but it is. Once he heard me giggle, he proceeded to go through his whole snorting repertoire. It�s impressive. Well, and funny when it�s done well such as he did. Perhaps, I find it entertaining because I myself snort. Accidentally, of course. I�m not so brave that I�d snort on purpose in such a setting.

Then again, I�m not four years old.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003