10:10 p.m. | 2005-04-27

Sometimes I�m More Topical Than Tropical. Strange But True.

I�ve not discussed work for a spell. That�s not accidental. Trust me � I�d love to tell you every single detail about it except you�d either fall asleep or become strangly fascinated with that whole thing. It�s pretty much a �love it or hate it� type of occupation.

Much like a sanitation technician. It�s all in the eye of the beholder.


But, indulge me for a moment for a brief history lesson regarding my work. A couple of years ago, there were five people involved in what I do. Now? There are two of us. In other words, I�m quite overloaded. End of history lesson.

For several years now I�ve been told that would change... people would be hired and help out and whatnot. Yeah, not so much. Or, at all. So, as a consequence, I�ve been topic central.

The work that I do? It�s topical in nature. That means that I analyze stuff that fits within certain topics. For example, if I was a sanitation technician � and I�m not saying that I�m not such a technician � my work would have �topical� areas such as the following:

Regular trash
Litter
Recyclables
Hazardous waste

Stuff like that. Albeit, I don�t know that sanitation workers actually define their work by topics. Mostly because I�m, um, not a sanitation technician.

However, I define my work by topics because that�s pretty much how it�s assigned. It�s just topical by its nature.


Anyway, to make a really long story somewhat shorter, a new person has been hired to analyze the same stuff NewColleague and I do. Down from 5 people, we�re finally going to be back up to 3. I�m thrilled.

Well, except for one part. NewColleague is kind of like half a person since she has other responsibilities. As such, I handle a huge majority of the topical areas. About four times the amount she has. Now, we have a �newbie�. One that I can cast topical issues at.

I was looking forward to the relief and was quite elated until today. When I actually had to pick and choose topical areas to throw at Newbie. Yeah. I�m much more attached to my topics than I thought.

I have to admit there were some softballs� some areas I�ve never been keen on. However, I pulled up the reins when some other topics were recklessly thrown on the table by NewColleague.

This is some of that.

(CI:) Okay. I gave you the first topic because I understand that you�re �interested� in it.

(Newbie:) Uh yeah� I, um, �experienced� that� um, okay.

Just to note, you don�t ever want to �experience� any of our topics. Ever. And, I knew that Newbie had �experienced� that particular thing. Much like a mortician doesn�t dwell on death � I don�t dwell on topics.

(CI:) (Checking to make sure that Newbie wasn�t put off by my perfunctory nature about topics � it�s a test, you know.) Next, I gave you these topics because I thought � for some reason that I forget now � that they�d be of interest to you.

(NewColleague:) (Looking at Newbie.) You noted them on your resume.

(CI:) Finally, I gave you this topic because you�re an attorney and this will keep your foot in the door. I�m not an attorney so this stuff isn�t so important to me.

Sidenote: I had no idea how I was gonna pitch that whole topic. I mean, going into the meeting. Going in? Totally selfish motive on my part. Hate that topic. Hate it. I had no idea that I�d throw out a successful spin at the last moment. None.

(NewColleague:) Exactly. (To Newbie.) That�s why I handle part of that topic too. She (meaning me) may not be an attorney, but don�t ever let her fool you. She does have a law degree and she�s spot on. (Okay, NewColleague didn�t say �spot on� � I paraphrased that � but I�d be so great if she did. She would if she was familiar with the �phrase� as she tends to be very blunt and consise.)

(Newbie:) That�s a great point. Yes, I like that topic.

(CI:) Those are all of the topics I�ve assigned you so far. Looking at our list of topics, are there any that interest you or you�re an expert about?

(Newbie:) (Rattling off a list.)

(NewColleague:) CI, you can transfer all of those to Newbie. Isn�t that great!

(CI:) Whoa. Hold up. My understanding is that we�re negotiating topics. Some? Yeah, I�m not so willing to give up. Hold the horses. Back up a bit.

The ones I�m not so willing to give up? Some� I�ve developed an expertise about � not so surprising. It�s easier just to continue handling them. The other ones? I�ve developed an expertise because I�ve �experienced� them.


Fortunately, I�m not a sanitation worker because � no matter what their topics are � they�re not pretty. And, I don�t even want to know what they�ve �experienced�.

Ditto for morticians.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003