10:26 p.m. | 2005-06-18

A Perfect Cut.

I had to get up early, relatively speaking, because I had a hair appointment today. Remember a couple of months ago when YoungerSister trimmed my hair? Yeah. I had her trim it because it just looked bad on the ends. However, she�s not a beautician so she wasn�t able to bring any style to my hair. I planned on having a professional complete the job but somehow my everyday life intervened and that didn�t happen.

Recently, I ran into one of my friends who�d just had her hair styled and she looked great. That�s when I remembered that I had wanted a finishing touch. And, I had a moment of clarity earlier this week and realized that I had to do more than want a haircut for that to happen. So, I made an appointment.

I was a little nervous because I made that appointment at a salon I�ve been to before but with a stylist who�s never touched my hair. And actually, outside of YoungerSister, no one�s touched my hair with scissors or whatnot for several years.

Anyway, I liked my new stylist right away. She was the only female beautician wearing sneakers rather than stilettos. Don�t get me wrong, I have nothing against stilettos � just that I can�t imagine spending that much time on my feet in six-inch heels. In fact, I loved my stylist even more as she cut my hair because she did most of the odd feet movements I do when I have to stand for any length of time.

She crossed her feet, stood with her feet wide apart and moved continuously. The only thing she didn�t do that I do is stand on one foot. I do that when I have to stand for a long time. I usually just wrap one leg around another and stand on one foot. Switching feet occasionally, of course.

I suppose that sounds like a strange thing to admire in a person who�s cutting your hair but that�s what works for me. I guess. That, and she listened to what I wanted, added her professional wisdom and made me comfortable. Here was one exchange.

(Beautician:) This has to sit in your hair (my highlights) for about 45 minutes. Can I bring you a magazine?

(CI:) Please.

(B:) Any magazine in particular?

(CI:) No, just one with articles.

Just for the record, it took her some time to meet my request. And, she was apologetic when she returned with, perhaps, the only three magazines with articles that were in the salon. She did good though.

So good that the professional who does waxing (can�t remember what they�re called) and was near me suggested that I read a particular article that was her favorite. (A Holocaust-related piece.) Before I had a chance to read it, the waxing lady and I got into a whole discussion about Holocaust books and whatnot. Even one of the other stylists got a word in edgewise. Not a conversation I expected while in the hair salon. Especially when all the stylists and customers are twenty-somethings.

Anyway, I have a new fabulous haircut and some natural-looking highlights now. Too bad Christmas in July was so early this year because I look fabulous. (My Christmas picture is already outdated.) Honestly, I look great. Love, love, love the cut. And the color. The color is subtle but it brightens my look. I should have done this a long time ago, but I�m always wary about cuts.

The best part? I still have the length. But now I have length with style. I finally got the cut I�ve been trying to get for years. Love it. It�s amazing how a good cut makes such a difference in how you feel.


As I told my stylist, this is the first hair cut I�ve ever loved. Yes, my hair has a traumatic past. And, I kind of lied because I had one cut I loved before but that was a shag (in the �70s, heh) I got when I was in second grade. But the time lapse between second grade and 40 years old probably nullifies that lie.

The trauma? Oh my. See, MyDad use to cut my hair when I was young. He had difficulty making the sides even as he cut. Hence, I had always ended up with really, really short hair. Then MyMother would cut my bangs with pretty much the same result. So, most people thought I was a boy until junior high. (Just to be fair, I have to admit I was a tomboy so that added to the effect of the cut.)

Eventually, having long hair became really important to me. Well, and I don�t think short hair works for me, generally speaking. However, long hair seems to be boring to stylists and they always want to cut my hair off. I hate that.

It�d be impossible for anyone to mistake me for a boy at this point but I still love long hair. And, I love it even more now.


It�s hard to imagine that I could write a whole entry about my new haircut, but then again, I never imagined I�d discuss the Holocaust at a salon either.

Life is interesting in that unexpected kind of way.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003