10:31 p.m. | 2005-08-10

Welcome Words.

The big thing on my agenda today was the Farmers Market. I had a long list of things to purchase. Hence, I was particularly determined and focused. I got frustrated when I hit a logjam. I was trying to buy tomatoes at the same time that a woman was very diligently examining each one � while asking questions of the vendor � and, successfully blocking everyone else�s access.

She probably doesn�t realize that tons of people, like myself, do their shopping during their lunch hour and really don�t have time to suffer her need to dominate a whole booth. Not surprisingly, she was a very small woman. I had mosied over and ended up next to an elderly man who was patiently waiting his �turn�. Which was very sweet but not farmers market wise.

After carefully reading the situation � realizing the gentleman didn�t feel comfortable �intruding� on this woman�s space � I moved in and started edging her over to the side. My move seemed to embolden him and he then quickly moved in. I was grabbing tomatoes when I heard this:

Hey Sexy!

Ah, BestestGirlfriend.

(Just for the record, I could �feel� women behind me stiffening � another woman called me sexy� they were worried about the GAY thing. Ha.)

I smiled. Only your bestest girlfriend understands that there are certain things that you really need to hear upon occasion. Especially when you�re not dating. �Hey Sexy�? Top of the list. That�s one very good reason why BG is my bestestgirlfriend. And, I venture to guess that the gay-fearing women behind me don�t hear that very often. Or ever.

Anyway, BG and I only had a few moments to get caught up. So, I told her that FBFB was trashing her again because she hasn�t kept in touch. (If you know what FBFB stands for and who that is, you can win the diary stalker of the year award. Otherwise, yeah, not so important.) But, it resulted in lunch plans for next week so I�m happy about that.

Those moments are so important. Having a best friend that knows exactly what to say at the right moment? Priceless.


The funniest thing I heard at the market?

(Consumer:) What are heirloom pumpkins? (Referencing the advertising banner above the booth.)

(Vendor:) I have no idea.

(Consumer:) Uh� okay. Um� thank you?

(Vendor:) Sure, no problem.

When I really listen, I discover the pure irony in everyday platitudes. I don�t know about you but my sardonic cerebral frolicking is often accompanied by a harpsichord. The accompaniment softens the edges and allows me to relish the pure humanity of everyday life.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003