12:06 a.m. | 2005-10-29

JournalCon 2005 Part Three.

As I mentioned, one of my goals for JCon this year was to meet new people. Here are some more people I met.

Mom on Roof. I introduced myself to MOF shortly after she arrived with a whole entourage. She�s cute, funny and amiable. I enjoyed our conversation. I was looking forward to more conversations but she was intriguingly elusive over the weekend. Come to find out, she spent a lot of time exploring San Diego. I�m quite impressed by those who can mix local sight-seeing with JCon. It�s an admirable trait. One I�ve not ever mastered. Obviously.

Mo Pie and Ian. I think I might�ve met Mo in Austin, but I can�t guarantee that. What I can guarantee is that she�s wonderful and Ian is wonderful and they�re wonderfully perfect together.

Science Girl and Mr. Science. I also think I met Science Girl and the Mister in Austin. They�re the quintessential power couple. Separately, they can each hold their own with no difficulty. Together, they�re awesome. And, terribly cute.

Kymm. I�ve still not met Kymm officially. But, boy do I recognize her laugh. It�s fantastic. Well, and infectious. Seriously. Oh, and she can knit like you wouldn�t believe.

Amanda Page. I�ve not officially met Amanda either. She�s charming and the dealer we all go to when we want/need some Aussie crack (aka TimTams). Much like Kymm, she can knit you into intimidation. Even when you�re not so vulnerable to that sort of yarnage. (I am though, not being any sort of knitter.)

Mary Ann. She�s a redhead� verbose, exuberant and very cute.

Beth I introduced myself to Beth because I wanted to meet her. Mostly because she always talks about how she has a tendency to be mean. I like to threaten people with bodily harm. Like attracts like. Anyway, she�s totally nice � like I expected � and quite pretty. I would�ve kicked her ass but alas, she�s quite disarming. And charming.

PurpleFishy. Purple is deliciously cute with a smile that can erase the worries of the world. I feel fortunate to have spent some time with her right before she made her karaoke debut. (She rocked, of course.) She was all nervous and whatnot and I told her that she�d be great. I was right and she was adorable.

Chuck and Beth. I met Chuck and Beth briefly on Friday night. However, on Saturday, I sat next to them at lunch. Apparently, Chuck is seen as �gruff� by a lot of folks but I knew instantly that he�s as sweet as caramel. Quite entertaining too. Much like Beth. Another adorable couple.

Jecca. Jecca is renowned � in a JCon way � for her fabulous hair and stellar tattoo. I think I introduced myself but I�m not sure about that.

MontyKins. Okay, I have to admit that I�ve never met MontyKins officially. I fell in love with him at JCon Austin karaoke night. I fell in love again at JCon San Diego karaoke night. The only person I know who can simultaneously mock and rock karaoke at the same time. It is a sight to see and it is beautiful. Pure comedic prose. On a stick.

And then there are some folks that I didn�t manage to meet properly. Like, Shawn and That Girl and KarenD and Poolagirl and Dashby and Chaos Daily and Art and several other people that I said �hi� to, had a quick conversation with, or mostly, just sat next to and never introduced myself. Not because I didn�t want to � that�s the odd thing about JournalCon � but because it becomes so totally overwhelming at some point.


It�s a lot of people in a short amount of time. Hell, it�s a lot of everything in a short amount of time. Yet it�s magical somehow. It�s no wonder I didn�t achieve my goal of meeting EVERYONE this year.

Think about it. Altogether, I probably spent 48 hours there. Minus the hours spent sleeping, showering, running about, etc., it�s not a lot of time. That�s where it becomes magical. I know, as sure as night turns into day, that every single person there is a friend. There�s a lot of wonderful in knowing that you can simply turn around, introduce yourself and instantly make a new friend.

That sense of community seemed really strong to me at this JournalCon. Maybe because it was a small gathering. I don�t know. It�s hard to explain. To me? JournalCon San Diego was a huge social safety net webbed with fibers of love.

Webbed. Heh.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003