10:22 p.m. | 2008-08-15

I remember once when I was in the car with my Dad and he looked at me and told me to stop "clenching my teeth." Of course, he said this through his own clenched teeth but irony was not something I pointed out back in those days.

He told me his life philosophy: Mind over matter.

I bought it, hook line and sinker. I was 16.

He was wrong.

Clenched teeth, emaciated bodies, broken bones unfixed... it's not mind over matter. Never is.

It's understanding that life is hard. Really hard sometimes. But, it's okay. You can make it through whatever is going on.

And, I guess that was his point but I think that life messes up your mind enough and you really don't need to have it manifest through you body.

Take care of it and, most importantly, take care of your mind.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003