5:18 p.m. | 2002-06-08

Even Transients Come With Disclaimers.

In our oh so litigious nation, even transients are now offering up disclaimers before soliciting donations. Yesterday, while I was downtown, a transient approached me, looked me directly in my eyes and asked for money. I told him I didn't have any on me. Which I didn't.

At the end of the day, he rolled up on me again. This time, when he was even with but perpendicular to me, he stared off into space and told me that yes, he was going to ask me for money but that, if I was going to tell him to get a job or hassle him in any way, I would be very, very sorry. (I imagine he heard a lot of that throughout the day.) Then, he looked me squarely in the eyes and asked if I could spare any money for him. I said no. I didn't add any commentary due to his prior disclaimer. I didn't want to be very, very sorry in any way.

And, I will say that in this downtown area, there are homeless meters, fashioned after parking meters - only fire-engine red - in which you can deposit money that is collected by a local charity to feed, clothe and shelter the homeless. I will also tell you that a fair amount of my money goes to those in need, but I can't support all the downtown, downtrodden, especially everyday.

And, I will also say that it is a sad day when even the homeless are throwing about disclaimers. I think it's silly that websites and diaries have disclaimers. For god's sakes, when are we going to stop holding others responsible for our own plights? If you don't want to give away your money, don't. I you don't like what you see/read on a website or diary, don't look at it and don't read it. If you don't like violence on TV, watch HGTV, or read a book or take a walk.

If you live in America, you have the freedom of choice. If you choose poorly, blame yourself, not others.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003