8:08 p.m. | 2002-08-10

My Fifteen Minutes of Fame.

Here�s how all this works. I have two neighbors who have very pregnant wives at the moment. They both have to be in their ninth month or more. They�re both very pretty women who happen to be very pregnant at this moment. So all of a sudden, I�m the �hot� chick that lives next door. I understand that this is a momentary thing. I�m hot right now because my abdomen is not stretched to capacity and, more importantly, I�m not having a freaky hormonal imbalance that results in a bitchy attitude. My abdomen isn�t that swollen and my bitch index is quite low at the moment. Mind you, I�m not normally the �hot� chick, and I�m not trying to be. I just am because I�m not about to give birth. I�m the default chick. (And, they're just looking. It's not like they're making moves on me. I just noticed that they've been checking me out, which they don't normally do.)

Now, I�ve been around enough blocks to know that women in their ninth month of pregnancy are not the most entertaining bunch. I haven�t ever been pregnant or given birth, but I have helped to deliver a baby and cut his cord, so I�m not a complete neophyte about this whole deal.

And, I know that in that last month, women only communicate one thought. That thought is: �Get this damned baby outta me RIGHT NOW DAMMIT! And DAMN you for impregnating me.

In a short time, these men will be overcome with emotion and devotion to their children. But right now, I�m looking pretty good. (When you aren�t married and don�t have kids, well, life is a whole different experience.)

That�s my whopping 15 minutes of fame. I�m looking forward to when things go back to normal. Alas, I understand both sides of this experience and I know all the men and women involved are going to be blissful very soon.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003