10:42 p.m. | 2002-08-12

Sometimes Walking is Painful.

I bit my lip with every step I took today because each time I took a step, it felt like I was stepping on a five-foot needle that shot straight up my leg and into my spine. And, despite the extreme heat, I was freezing. And, my legs were really wobbly and didn�t hold me too well.

Some days are just difficult that way.

Maybe I�m actually sick. With all the symptoms, medications and side-effects, it hard to determine when I�m actually sick. But, I know that muscle spasms in my fingers are a bad thing when I need to write all day. And, those cognitive blinks don�t bode well when you�re trying to analyze complicated stuff. Those are the days when laughter is really important. Here�s a quip that made my day brighter.

(Boss:) I need to see you in my office right now.

(CI:) I�ll be right there. (Dragging my sorry ass to her office.) What�s up?

(Boss:) Nothing. I just know that you hate it when I call you into my office. (We both just busted out laughing.)

(CI:) You made me walk all the way over here on broken legs just because I hate it when you call me into your office? You�re an abusive boss! (Again, we both busted out laughing.)

(Boss:) Oh my god, I forgot about your legs! I�m really sorry about that. (And she really was.)

(CI:) That�s okay � you made me laugh and I really needed to laugh. But, still, you�re really abusive and all that. (Again, we laughed.)

Laughter is the best medicine sometimes!

Did I ever mention that I have the best boss in the whole world?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003