9:42 p.m. | 2002-08-15

Laundry Gone Awry.

Today is Thursday which is laundry day. After work I do laundry unless I receive an invite to do something more exciting, like dodging traffic on the freeway. Alas, there was no such invite today so I�m washing, drying and folding. Oh my!

While doing the laundry, I remembered a strange laundry-related incident that I experienced when I was in my early 20s � 21, 22, 23 � take your pick. (When you get older, ya really do forget some of the details.) I had moved into an apartment complex in which several of my co-workers also lived. Therefore, I presumed it was an okay place. And, it kinda was. Except it was a �party� complex. I wasn�t partying too much since I was working fulltime and going to school at night, however, it fit my demographic profile. (I was young and single with no children.)

Anyway, one day I went and retrieved my laundry from the laundry room, carried it back to my apartment and commenced with the folding, hanging and stuff. When all was said and done, I noticed I was missing some articles of clothing. Specifically, I was missing every pair of panties that I had (except the panties I was wearing, of course). That, my friends, was just weird and creepy and rather inconvenient. It was Sunday. I had to go to work and school on Monday. And, I had plans to go out of town for the day with a guy friend, however, now I also needed to buy new panties.

So, when my friend showed up, I explained this rather odd situation as best I could and asked if we could �stop somewhere� along the way to buy panties. (That wouldn�t faze me now, but back then it was a rather awkward conversation.) We stopped at a clothing store along the way. I made him go to a different section while I picked out and purchased my new, much-needed panties.

I moved out of that complex soon afterward. In addition to the panties incident, I had been receiving obscene messages on my answering machine on a daily basis. Interestingly enough, the guy would sing these obscene, rhyming messages to a rap-type beat. And this was way before rap music showed up on the scene. (He sounded like a 12-year-old kid and I figured these messages just fit into the whole practical joke category albeit he was good with the whole rhyming and rhythm thing.)

You can see why I had to move. Yes, I still wonder what kind of weirdo would sort through my laundry, while it was either in the washer or dryer, and pull out all my panties. And, I do wonder if it was connected to those obscene messages.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003