8:41 p.m. | 2002-08-16

A Round of Applause for My Boss!

(Boss:) Now get out of my office� I have to read all this CRAP!

(CI:) Are you calling my work �crap�? (Laughing.)

(Boss:) Yes, I guess I am! (Laughing.)

Don�t get up� I�ll run to my own defense. My written work isn�t crap, however, it is rather dry, technical and very boring. If I do say so myself. It�s, um, well-written crap! And, I know that it�s boring because I write it and then read it myself. It�s very tempting to write in something witty, which I KNOW my boss would love, but then I would have to edit it and take it back out. After we both stopped laughing, of course. See, it�s my busy season so I don�t have time for such frivolity. Tempting as it might be. (If she overlooked it, well, that would be a bad thing so it would be kinda risky too. Which makes it even more tempting, of course.)

Anyhoo, at lunch today, with a couple of our male colleagues, my Boss told us about a recent conversation she had with her husband. One colleague is also her employee � my coworker (CW) and the other used to be her boss (FB); he�s moved onward and upward but we have people in common whom we all work with. (My Boss� 24th wedding anniversary is next month.)

(Boss:) What are you doing for our anniversary?

(Husband:) I don�t know.

(Boss:) Well, I�m going to �The City� to see a play.

(Husband:) Oh. I don�t wanna go to �The City� and see a play.

(Boss:) Well, that�s good because you�re not invited. I�m going with my friends.

(Husband:) Great! I�ll probably go fishing then.

(Switch to our conversation.)

(Boss:) That�s what happens after you�ve been married for a long time. You ask your spouse what they�re gonna do since you�ve already made other plans.

(CI:) See what you guys have to look forward to? (CW and FB are both married.)

(Boss:) Since we eloped, I think for our 25th anniversary I�m going to tell my husband that I want a huge, formal wedding with bridesmaids and all that stuff.

(CI:) Oh, I wouldn�t miss that for the world!! That would be soooo much fun.

(FB:) Oh, you HAVE to do that because then I can get up in the middle of the ceremony and shout: �I LOVE you, Boss!� (Of course, he said her name; he didn�t actually say �Boss�.)

(Boss:) Oh yeah! And, I�ll tell my gay man friend to shout out: �I LOVE you, Husband!� Oh my friends would totally love it and they would all do whatever I told them to.

(CI:) Oh my GAWD� when the preacher (or whomever) asks if anyone opposes the marriage, we could all stand up and shout out: �We ALL oppose this marriage and we WILL speak now and we will NOT forever hold our peace!� Oh man, this could be sooo much fun!

(CW:) (Laughing too hard to speak and shaking his head. He�s the most proper one amongst us, or maybe the only proper one. But he is blessed with a great sense of humor.)

(FB:) I�m really, really liking this idea.

(Boss:) Me too, ya know, since I never had a �real� wedding. Of course we would have to kidnap my husband to get him there.

(CI:) You�ll have to get up early because he�ll probably be out fishing.

By far, the best thing about my job is my Boss, so if you hate yours, just pretend you have mine. If you don�t have a boss, chances are you would have a bad one, so count that as a blessing even if you would kill to work. If you are a boss, try to be a good one; there�s already too many terrible ones out there giving you a bad name. And, if you�re an independent contractor, then you have the best of both worlds so be thankful.

Love those belly-laughing lunches. As a bonus, I got two fortunes in my cookie, as follows:

�Your dearest wish will come true.�

�Your luck has been completely changed today.�

And, yes, I do come home and count my blessings EVERY day. I am a very, very, lucky lady indeed.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003