4:39 p.m. | 2002-08-25

Holy Shit! Hell Must Have Frozen Over.

I washed my car this morning. The old-fashioned way with a bucket of soap and water and the garden hose. I bought my car brand new 14 years ago and have probably washed it myself less than 10 times. It�s been washed more than 10 times over the years, of course, just not by me. It�s been washed by the folks at the local car wash, by guys trying to get into my pants, steady boyfriends, and even occasionally, by either a girlfriend or family member that was just couldn�t stand to see my car looking so dirty.

I, myself, only wash it when it personally embarrasses me. Dirt doesn�t embarrass me, however, birdshit and obscenities scrawled in the dirt do. But I hate any car-related activity, including driving and fueling up. Don�t get me wrong, I am totally grateful for my car and all its faithful service on my behalf, but I abhor car stuff. My car is not a status symbol, a home away from home, or a hobby. It�s a mode of transportation that takes me from Point A to Point B. As long as it goes when I get in it, I�m happy. That�s one reason that I still own the same car after 14 years � I don�t want to go buy a new one because that�s a car-related activity. Plus my car only has 105,000 miles on it and I haven�t had a car payment in 10 years. I intend to drive it until it falls apart around me.

And, I found a new way to make myself do stuff I don�t like to do (i.e., grocery shopping, washing the car, cleaning the bathroom, etc.). I roll outta bed, grab a quick shower and then tackle the project. That way, when I actually wake up about an hour or so later, it�s already done. It�s working like a charm so far.

Yes, I have gone outside and looked at it a couple of times. It hadn�t been washed in a good 6 months or so, and it�s all sparkly now. Of course, by tomorrow it will have a thin coat of dust on it which will thicken in no time at all and once again, it will need a good washing.

Some things in life are just constant.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003