7:30 p.m. | 2002-09-11

To Each His Own.

I attended the official memorial today. It was something I needed and wanted to do. I think the remembrance of 911 should involve some ceremony, a moment of silence, the Pledge of Allegiance, renditions of Amazing Grace and America the Beautiful, and most importantly, the coming together of a kinds of people � law enforcement, firefighters, the National Guard, school children, survivors, state officials, religious leaders, the general public, the media, the homeless, etc. One beautiful outcome of 911 was the coming together of all kinds of people. We need to keep coming together and staying together. In my opinion.

However, the official moment of silence wasn�t enough for me. I needed more quiet time for reflection and rumination. So I have been taking moments of silence on and off all day. Just as I have in the last 365 days.

I found that people are unsure of what to do today or how to do it. Including those at Diaryland. Like any horrific situation, people react differently. That�s okay. Do whatever you feel compelled to do. Do nothing. Do everything. 911 was a national tragedy and it affected everyone, directly or indirectly. You didn�t have to lose a loved one or be a survivor to in order to be affected by it. There is no right or wrong way to mourn. And, you can mourn and go on with your life at the same time. We do it all the time with the many personal losses we all experience throughout our lives.

There are many things I have done and will do in remembrance of this event. I have an official list of the names of all the victims currently known. I plan to frame this list and hang it on my wall. Right or wrong? Morbid or honorable? Weird or normal? I care not. It�s one way in which I choose to honor those who lost their lives for our country, albeit, that�s not necessarily what they set out to do. Millions of people have lost their lives for our country in wars, in the line or duty, or by unfortunate circumstances. They are all worthy of our recognition and honor.

And today, I also worked, laughed, prayed, and went on with my daily life.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003