| 2002-10-26

It�s Time To Fall Back.

So, Daylight Savings Time ends tonight at midnight. We�ll all set our clocks back an hour before we go to bed tonight, and while we�re sleeping or whatnot, we�ll magically �gain� an hour. I like that.

In fact, I love falling back but I hate springing ahead. However, I don�t like welcoming the dark but I do love welcoming the light. And all this crazy time traveling throws my own internal clock into a triple lutz followed by constant twirling. Which, for whatever reason, results in more pain. Wheee. What fun.

I find it fascinating that we actually think that we�re changing time. Time just is. What we change is all our collective schedules. And, of course, all of our clocks. I am a slave to time so I have many clocks. I�ve already changed 3 clocks and my current watch in order to reduce my bedtime chores.

And, what about time zones? See, that�s some heavy stuff there, if you really think about it. How can something on the East Coast happen 3 hours before it does on the West Coast? How can something abroad happen 9, 10, 11 or 12 hours before it happens over here?

I have to go ponder this while I�m falling back in time. I mean, I do have an extra hour and all, so I might as well ponder it away.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003