9:03 p.m. | 2002-11-05

Reach Out And Touch Someone.

I�m still full of electricity so I decided to check out my new little superpower today. I mean, what else do you do when you�re suddenly bestowed with a quirky little power. I went around touching people. Not just anyone, mind you, only those whom don�t mind being touched and whom I know. I started with Colleague. When I went to tell him something, I reached out and touched his forearm. He was quite surprised and exclaimed, �Hey, you shocked me!� while pulling his arm quickly towards himself and looking wounded. With Boss being out today, I then shocked Another Colleague. She had the same reaction. Both however, thought it was accidental. It wasn�t. I decided I better not be too irresponsible with my electric self, so I quit touching others. I didn�t explain this strange phenomenon either. I�m keeping my new superpower a secret until I figure out how I can use it to save the world. Or something.

In other rather mundane news, I received some prescriptions I ordered on Saturday, October 26. All had 0 refills, 2 were precariously low and 1 was low enough that by the time I received it, I would be out or close to it. So I ordered all three at the same time. Since they all had 0 refills a note would have to be sent to my doctor to renew the prescription and then they would have to fill and send it. Anyway, I had it all figured out to account for that.

I ran out of 1 on this past Saturday (the one that enables me to breathe), I only had 2 of another as of this morning and the third one was low. I got all three refills today; two were fine but I noticed the third one (the one that was merely low) had different instructions on its label. This is what it says:

�Take 1 tablet orally 3 times a day after meals when needed. SHOULD LAST FOR 30 DAYS. COVERING MD: DR X.�

Okay, the new information is all the stuff in caps, and I didn�t add the caps for emphasis; that�s how it appears on the bottle. Apparently Dr. X (who�s covering for my doctor) felt the need to send me a little lecture via my prescription label.

Now the old bottle was dated October 4, 2002. I ordered a new script on October 26 anticipating the 7-business-day delay for the refill. Seven business days later is today, November 5. The new bottle is dated November 4, 2002. And, although Dr. X doesn�t know this, I still have 14 tablets in the old bottle. However, I�m going on vacation next week so I wanted to make sure I had all my meds.

So what is that little lecture about? God, they�re so paranoid about addiction. I�ve been on this med for years and my pharmacy records clearly show no evidence of misuse or abuse. And, I suppose you could get addicted to this medication but it�s not even a narcotic or a pain reliever. It�s a muscle relaxer and not even a strong one.

So now every time I open my medicine cabinet Dr X shouts: �SHOULD LAST FOR 30 DAYS� at me. Gah.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003