6:14 p.m. | 2002-11-06

Oh, You�ll Never Believe This!

Anyone who read my 100 things knows that I�m not really apt to go about in the world purchasing electronic gadgets, appliances or toys. I�m missing that gene apparently, or maybe it�s because there�s a distinct lack of testosterone in my household. Whatever.

I�ve mentioned that I don�t own a stereo, DVD player or digital camera. I�ve also noted that the two boom boxes I do have were gifts. The first one was given to me because I had cassette tapes but no cassette player. The second one was given to me because I had CDs but no CD player. My VCR and cordless phone were also gifts. The only electronic things I personally purchased are my TV, computer and answering machine. I think you get the picture.

So guess what I did today? I ordered a little electronic thing. Specifically I ordered up a Sony AM/FM stereo clock radio with a CD player. I didn�t even know they existed. You guys probably all have one already and are dumfounded by my complete ignorance and apparent apathy about all things electronic. Trust me, I know. People roll their eyes at me all the time. I care not.

This is a perfect little thing for me because I fall asleep to a CD but like to wake to the radio and my current clock radio doesn�t work well because it�s old. I believe I got it in high school which would make it more than 20 years old. Appalling I know. So I currently use my CD player in conjunction with my alarm clock.

I suppose you want to know what prompted this impulsive act. Well, on one of my credit cards, I accumulate �Sony Points� every time I charge something. Occasionally, they send me a �Sony Points Catalog� which features items I can �purchase� with my points. I have never redeemed any of my points before. It was easy and fun and I don�t even have to pay for shipping. Wow! Look at me! I �purchased� a little electronic gadget. Next thing you know, I�ll be hanging out with Uncle Bob at Circuit City.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003