6:59 p.m. | 2002-11-20

A Walk In The Park.

A few of my lady friends go walking in the park in the afternoon. These colleagues are from different divisions. Actually, they�re each from a different division, now that I think of it. Wow, I get around. They�re all in their forties and have been walking for exercise.

I love to walk in the park so I invited myself to join them. Okay. I was thinking of a nice casual stroll in the park. Oh no, these women mean business. They are walking to lose weight and get some aerobic exercise. They walk two miles in a half-hour. Alrighty then. Fortunately, one of the ladies was tired so we both fell behind at some point.

Anyway, as we�re walking, one of the ladies asks me if I�m going to the dance. Uh, what dance? The prom? Did is miss something? One of the other ladies quickly explained that two of them belong to some singles club that has a dance every month. (Did I forget to mention that they�re all divorced and currently single?) I indicated that I wasn�t planning to attend the dance. I�d rather spend time with my man; however, I didn�t point that out because, bless her heart, she sometimes misses the obvious.

So, I asked the other singles club lady (SCL) about the club because I don�t know anything about such groups and, of course, I want to know if it�s full of losers. My lady friends are all very great women so I figure maybe other decent people go there. She told me she actually met someone from there who she�s dating and told me about the kinds of people are in the club. Here�s some of that.

(SCL:) People who have their own businesses also go.

(CI:) To network and stuff or just to meet people who aren�t clients?

(SCL:) No, to do their business. For example, there�s a lady who reads tarot cards. So last time, I had her do a reading for me.

(CI:) Really? How cool. What�d she say?

(SCL:) Well first, she uses regular playing cards instead of tarot cards because she said she could do a more accurate tarot reading with regular cards.

(CI:) What?! That�s not possible! There is no way you can do a more accurate tarot card reading with regular cards. I mean, you just can�t� um, that�s just not possible.

(SCL:) Well, that�s what I thought too.

(CI:) So what�d she say?

(SCL:) She said that she saw a special man in my life but that there was another woman which is why he�s not with me.

(CI:) What card told her that� the Queen of Hearts?! I mean please, that�s just ridiculous! A tarot reading with regular cards� that�s rich.

(SCL:) (She gave me more details.) I asked her if she could just eliminate this woman for me. She told me that she can�t do that� that�s God�s work, but I could burn some candles. Very expensive candles.

(CI:) Well of course.

(SCL:) I passed on the candles. Then a lady wanted to read my palm but I told her that I just paid for a tarot card reading and I wasn�t going to pay to have my palm read so she offered me a free reading. She told me the same things the tarot card reader did. And she told me I could burn some candles. Very expensive candles�

(CI:) What a surprise.

Anyway, then I had to lag behind because I thought I was going to keel over. I actually walked a mile in 15 minutes. That�s not such a good idea with the fibro. So I did the second mile walking at a more leisurely pace with another lady friend.

I won't be inviting myself again� I just can�t keep up!

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003