4:15 p.m. | 2002-11-24

Shifting Age Demographics.

When I was younger, I didn�t pay too much attention to which age demographic I belonged to when filling out survey questions on documents such as warranty cards, etc. But at some point, I started to notice when I shift from one demographic to the next. I don�t find it traumatic or anything, it�s just a little startling. Usually, I�m surprised because I haven�t realized how much time has passed.

At 20, when I thought of a 35-year-old woman, I pictured a woman with a career, spouse, kids, etc. And, of course, I thought 35 was old. When I became 35, I had only recently finished school, however I been on my own for 18 years. No spouse or kids, but certainly had a career. Nor did I feel old. Now I�m 38. Still not feeling old and 20-year-olds seem like children to me. It�s interesting how we have preconceived notions about such things.

Anyway, when I was driving home in the fog from the Saturday Night Party, I was trying to find a radio station to listen to. My favorite radio station wasn�t picking up, and since I didn�t have the foggiest (!) idea where I was, I didn�t know what stations were picking up in that area.

So I stumbled across a station that came in clearly and checked it out. The DJ enthusiastically said: �Welcome to the Old School Saturday Night Party!� and then proceed to play some songs. I knew every word of every song. All of a sudden, I realized that I WAS �old school�. Imagine that.

Sadly, I didn�t stay on that station for long as I realized the loud, heavy rock-and-roll songs hurt my ears and exacerbated my migraine. I really am old school. And for all you youngsters who are chuckling about that, rest assured, it�ll happen to you too.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003