5:28 p.m. | 2002-12-14

The Gods Must Be Crazy.

We�re experiencing some inclement weather here. The rain is pouring down and the wind is howling like a wounded coyote. So, what did I decide to do today? I decided I needed to go out and about to do some Christmas shopping and to mail some stuff. Oh, and did I mention that I�m kinda bitchy today? Yeah. Well. My pain level is quite high and so I�m a little cranky. Before heading out the door, I actually stopped for a moment to silently ask for some grace and to pre-apologize to anyone who might suffer my misdirected wrath.

Anyway, I was headed to a strip mall when I noticed that they had very conveniently built a brand-new store of my liking right near my home. And get this, it has a mailing center right in it. What are the odds of that happening? So, I get to the store and realize that I left the stuff I needed to mail at home. No matter. I still needed to purchase some items that went into these packages so I went ahead and went shopping. I found everything I needed, stood in a short line and got all checked out without any hassles or problems.

I then went back home, finished up my packages and headed back to the same store to mail my stuff. I walked right up to the counter, handed over the packages and some money and left. All in 5 minutes!

I need to be asking for grace more frequently.

Then I came home to rest and listen to the rain and wind. I haven�t turned on the TV or the radio; I�m just listening to the weather. See, I have tin awnings over all my windows and I love the sound of the rain hitting them. Plus, I propped my screen door open because when the wind hits it, it makes sounds similar to the riggings on boats. For whatever reason, I find that sound soothing.

Now I�m going to go simmer mulling spices on the stove and see if I can�t get into the Christmas spirit a little.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003