7:28 p.m. | 2003-01-07

A Night On The Town.

Last night, about ten of us ladies went to a party. Everyone was from work except my bestest girlfriend who use to work with us but is now going to law school. We were all together when we got there but were quickly separated from each other due to the throngs of people.

So, anyway, my bestest girlfriend (BG) and I hung out� eating, drinking, talking (of course) and, um, having our picture taken with various characters. It�s kind of hard to explain, but there were characters like Mickey Mouse or whatever at this party too. We went from character to character having our picture taken. That was kind of, well, odd yet funny too. We each now have a set of pictures of both of us with random creatures in varying states of intoxication. (We were intoxicated, not the creatures. Just to be clear.)

During our photo frenzy, we witnessed something that left us incredulous. This couple walked up to a character to have their picture taken, posed, collected their picture and wandered off. The bizarre part? During the whole time, the woman was talking on her cell phone. Who does THAT? How arrogant and disrespectful. That�s like talking on the cell phone while sitting on Santa�s lap. I know that cell phones are quite useful for some people but personally, I�d like to chuck them all off the Statute of Liberty. At least until we learn how to communicate respectfully. Gah.

BG and I are both avid people watchers so we had a great time. When we were done, we called BG�s boyfriend and had him come pick us up so we didn�t have to drive or anything. We had fun and now we have wacky souvenirs of our good times.

Oh, and just for the record, characters apparently make me more photogenic. And, the irony of that is not lost on me. I can�t take a decent picture at Christmas in July to save my life but put me next to Dumbo, and suddenly, I�m hella photogenic.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003