5:37 p.m. | 2003-01-05

An Update On My Surprise Visitor.

In this entry, I told you all about my surprise visitor � a man who grew up in my house that came by to see his boyhood home.

As I mentioned, he�s often in the local paper. Recently, there was another article about him pertaining to one of his lawsuits. Here�s what I learned. He�s 79, worth an estimated $800 million, and possibly the richest man in town. Oh, and he was found guilty of fraud in a lawsuit filed by some of his former partners. He was ordered to pay $7 million. I also heard that he�s in the process of getting a divorce.

It�s sad really. The man I met was so different. When he came into my home, he was instantly a boy again and you could see many happy memories in his face. And really, my home is very, very modest but you�d have thought he stumbled across Disneyland or something. The look of joy on his face was wonderful.

Sometimes people get so caught up in making money, obtaining power and achieving �success� that they lose themselves in the process. What does all that really mean in the end? I think, especially in America, we really need to re-evaluate what the true definition of success is.

I really hope he doesn�t end up alone counting his money. And his regrets.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003