4:26 p.m. | 2003-01-12

My Identity Crisis.

On the first day of work at my current job, they took a picture of me, slapped it on a badge and told me that I must carry it with me at all times. Of course, the only uglier picture of me in existence is on my law school ID card. When I noticed that no one ever asked to see it, I quickly lost it. Honestly, I have no idea where that card is. Really.

And life continued on just fine until 9/11. Even so, the only time I needed to prove who I am was when I went to MyOtherWorkplace across the street from MyWorkplace. However, I would simply produce my business card and drivers license. Now that sufficed, but the security folks just couldn�t understand how I could exist without an official ID card. I mean, EVERYBODY has one right?

So one day, Boss ordered me to go get another ID badge. I went to the appropriate division and requested a new ID. They had me stand against the wall and snapped a photo. That�s when they realized that I was too short for the background. In the end, I had to stand on a ream of paper so that my head and shoulders were on the background.

Alas, I was �official�. Since no one ever asked for it except the security folks at MyOtherWorkplace, I was anxiously awaiting a trip across the street. Finally, the day came when I needed to make that little trek. I almost skipped over there in anticipation. As I was waiting in line, I pulled out my little ID badge. The security guy, immediately noticing this action, told me that he didn�t need to see my ID. WHAT?! I mean, WHAT?! After all this trouble, they didn�t even want to see it! I wanted to force them to look at it, but, um, they have guns and all and I don�t so I didn�t push the issue.

Why didn�t they care anymore? Well because, since 9/11, security has increased at the speed of light and now they pretty much just shove you through an MRI machine, take your X-ray and scan you with lasers before they let you in. By that point, your little ID badge isn�t really necessary.

To date, the only person who�s requested to see my ID is a lady at the candy store so I could get my 20% discount. The really disappointing part? Without a doubt, it�s one of the best pictures I�ve ever taken.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003