6:48 p.m. | 2003-01-13

Easy Money.

Some of you may have noticed that I haven�t been talking about Boss much lately. That�s because she hasn�t been around. First, she took some time for the holidays and then she had a death in the family. I hope I didn�t start a trend.

Anyway, she�s back. And, in rare form. Check this out.

(Boss:) Should I give you a raise?

(CI:) Absolutely.

(Boss:) Really? Do you deserve one?

(CI:) Definitely. Of course. I mean, look at all the shit I do around here. And, now that Outcast Colleague is gone, I�m going to have to do half of his fucking work too. In fact, I�m glad you brought this up because I hadn�t even thought it. Wow. You should definitely give me a raise.

Boss knows that when she asks me about such matters, my opinion is likely to contain a little insubordination and a dash of arrogance. I like to think of it as being "honest" and "marketing myself".

(Boss:) Okay. (She scribbles something on a form, puts it in an envelope and hands it to me.) If you want a raise, then take this to HR.

(CI:) Sure, no problem. Thanks.

I don�t know about you, but I�m certainly glad she�s back.

That was a little unusual� and speaking of unusual experiences, I thought this was rather odd too.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003