7:50 p.m. | 2003-01-16

Cruel-Irony Unleashed.

Thanks for all your kind words, thoughts and wishes. Physically, I�m feeling, uh, pretty much the same but my spirits are much higher today. Thank GAWD since I had to work today. Can�t say that I set the world on fire today but I managed to get some things done and I didn�t embarrass myself too much. Since I�m in pain all the time, it gets rather mundane and at some point, I just get over myself and move on. It�s hard to explain.

Anyway, I really think that I�m Boss� personal science project or something. See, tomorrow is the ImportantWeeklyMeeting for our division. They haven�t been having them for a couple of months and this is the first one of the year, so this one is super important. What does Boss decide to do? Well, she decides to send me. Of course.

I have been tasked with being Boss for a few hours tomorrow. That�s right, all I have to do is step into her shoes. I�ll just say straight up, her shoes are too big for me. Both literally and figuratively.

Just for review, I�m in tons of pain, having muscle spasms, experiencing cognitive difficulties, and can�t form a coherent thought to save my life and Boss is sending me across the street to MyOtherWorkplace for a very important meeting which will be attended by very important people. Oh, and since this is the first meeting of the year, they�ll be saying very important things that I�ll need to write down and/or remember. Forget any remembering. So I�ll be writing. With broken, inflamed, dysfunctional hands. It�s not like she�s being mean or anything, it�s just that I�m the only one available to go as she�ll be out and, more than likely, Colleague will also be out.

But, it gets even better. I also have to listen to this important shit, tape that important stuff, attend the meeting, go back to the listening and taping and handle anything that comes up. And, on a Friday before a three-day weekend, something�s gonna come up. Oh yeah, and I have to wear a fancy schmancy suit, act all professional and look like I know what I�m doing.

As this isn�t a new thing, I already know I�m gonna mess some shit up, say some goofy-ass things and run into at least one wall. And, it will all work out in the end. You might think that I�m stressed out by all this, but I�m not. This shit doesn�t faze me anymore. Actually, I find it funnier than fuck.

By the way, my two favorite profane phrases right now are �funnier than fuck� � I have no idea where that came from � and �fuck you AND the horse you rode up on� � which is only technically applicable to the mounted police with whom I have no beef with at all. If you guys feel compelled to do something for me in my time of pain and need, then here�s what you can do: pray, or whatFUCKINGever, that I don�t say either of those two phrases tomorrow out loud. Especially at the meeting. Oh, and feel free to wish away my pain. I�m into �alternative medicine� so perhaps your wishes will make my pain go away. It�s worth a shot.

And to add insult to injury, you just KNOW those wacky security studs with guns aren�t EVEN gonna ask to see my ID. Bastards. Maybe I�ll �accidentally� drop it on the floor because you know they�ll pick it up for me� they�re gentlemen and all that. Notwithstanding their somewhat aloof affect and their various weapons.

On a totally different note, I�ve been receiving some kind suggestions that perhaps it�s time to alter this brilliantly red and amazingly unimpressive layout. I share that sentiment, but for now, deal with it. I have asked a fanFUCKINGtabulous designer to save me from myself and she�s agreed to take that on, however, she actually has things to attend to right now that are infinitely more important than my redesigning my page. If any of you all want to whip up an interim design for me, knock yourself out. Well, and let me know.

Well, I have some emails to answer and stuff to do so I gotta get going. I need to be rested for my �big day� tomorrow. I�ll let you know how it turns out.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003