5:59 p.m. | 2003-01-17

Much Ado About Nothing.

Phew! My day was way easier than I thought it would be. That�s one reason I wasn�t stressing yesterday. Things can and often do change from moment to moment so you just never know what�s actually gonna happen. First, the stuff I had to listen to was quick � only about 15 minutes. You just never know. It can go for 15 minutes or for 16 hours. I lucked out. Second, the stuff I had to tape was cancelled this morning so I didn�t have to worry about that. Third, Colleague came to work so I had some back up.

I still had to go to the ImportantWeeklyMeeting. I strolled across the street in my fancy schmancy suit, silently cursed the wacky security studs for not checking my ID and proceeded to the meeting. I only had to write three things down. I so wanted to kiss the lady who gave us all hardcopies of the important crap, but that would�ve violated the typical protocol expected at the ImportantWeeklyMeeting. The whole thing lasted about 15 minutes and for the majority of the time, I was pondering the following question.

Is it more inappropriate to wear jeans to the ImportantWeeklyMeeting or skin-tight low-rise pants?

There were four people wearing jeans, one woman wearing skin-tight low-rise pants, and a handful of people wearing suits. The rest were wearing something dressier than jeans but less formal than a suit. Trust me, anything less than a suit was inappropriate. Then it was only a matter of degree. The jeans AND sneakers was just so not right. And, I�m not trying to be judgmental; what others choose to do is their own business. It just surprised me. In some settings, how you choose to portray yourself really does make a difference.

Anyway, that�s what I was pondering which was fine since the meeting was more informational than anything else. I was back at MyWorkplace within a half hour with nothing I needed to listen to or tape. So I just did some more writing.

See, it all worked out in the end.

Then I came home and took a pain killer to knock out the stubborn pain in my shoulder. Since my accident last year, that spot�s been such the troublemaker. I must say though, you guys are pretty powerful in your good wishes, etc. as it knocked out all the rest of the pain. It also did wonders for my spirits. I�ve found that my mental state makes a whole hell of a lot of difference in coping with the physical pain.

I�m almost done with this flare up. All I have to do is make it past the pesky little side effects of the painkiller which happens to make me more nauseated than a boatload of pregnant women in their first trimester. The torturous hours of nausea are, of course, followed by hours of barfing which usually commences about the time I�m ready for bed. It�s cool though because I don�t have to work tomorrow so I can sleep all day if I�m up all night. This little side effect alone will prevent me from ever becoming addicted to these godawful painkillers which also make me as hyper as a maniacal, freshly-high crack addict.

Then, hopefully, we can go back to the regularly scheduled Cruel-Irony episodes until the next Special News Report of a flare up. Thanks for your help you guys. You�re the best!

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003